Post Pictures Of Your Work Or Violations Thread! - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2009, 09:19 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Post pictures of your work or violations thread!


Please share some pictures of your work or violations here!

Open j-box



My coax work




Advertisement

rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 09:34 PM   #2
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Post pictures of your work or violations thread!


A time clock at a grocery store. Notice the how the wires are connected.
Attached Thumbnails
Post pictures of your work or violations thread!-gedc0129.jpg   Post pictures of your work or violations thread!-gedc0133.jpg   Post pictures of your work or violations thread!-gedc0140.jpg   Post pictures of your work or violations thread!-gedc0128.jpg  

Advertisement

InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 09:44 PM   #3
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Post pictures of your work or violations thread!


Work by A/C men.
Attached Thumbnails
Post pictures of your work or violations thread!-gedc0022.jpg   Post pictures of your work or violations thread!-gedc0025.jpg   Post pictures of your work or violations thread!-gedc0023.jpg   Post pictures of your work or violations thread!-gedc0024.jpg  
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 09:49 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Post pictures of your work or violations thread!


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
Work by A/C men.

Wow...not even rated for outdoor.

The whips to my ac units have romex sleeved through them. One guy forgot to unscrew the locknut before wiring...so when he came to screw it in he would have to undo it all...he just left it.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 09:51 PM   #5
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Post pictures of your work or violations thread!


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
Wow...not even rated for outdoor.

The whips to my ac units have romex sleeved through them. One guy forgot to unscrew the locknut before wiring...so when he came to screw it in he would have to undo it all...he just left it.

Violation to run NM (romex) outdoors, even in conduit.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 09:53 PM   #6
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Post pictures of your work or violations thread!


Whats with all the redundant grounding with the COAX?
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 09:53 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Post pictures of your work or violations thread!


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
Violation to run NM (romex) outdoors, even in conduit.
Yep, thats why I will pull thwn through them when it warms up outside.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 09:56 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Post pictures of your work or violations thread!


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
Whats with all the redundant grounding with the COAX?
I have an isolator between the amp and the system. I think the arrestor is rated as a ground block so I might be able to remove the ground block.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 09:59 PM   #9
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Post pictures of your work or violations thread!


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
I have an isolator between the amp and the system. I think the arrestor is rated as a ground block so I might be able to remove the ground block.

Your grounding needs to take place at the entrance of the structure. Whats the isolator for?
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 10:01 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Post pictures of your work or violations thread!


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
Your grounding needs to take place at the entrance of the structure. Whats the isolator for?

This is the first grounding point, the coax enters from conduit.


The isolator is for 60 hz interference.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 11:14 PM   #11
Electrician
 
ctsmiths's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Naugatuck, CT
Posts: 186
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Post pictures of your work or violations thread!


These two at at the plant I work.The first one , someone cut the panel cover right down the middle. Second one, you cant open the panel fully because it is hinged and it hits the stairs.
Attached Thumbnails
Post pictures of your work or violations thread!-img_2549.jpg   Post pictures of your work or violations thread!-img_2548.jpg  

Last edited by ctsmiths; 01-20-2009 at 11:16 PM.
ctsmiths is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 11:17 PM   #12
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Post pictures of your work or violations thread!


I like how there's even a sign warning to keep the front clear.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 11:24 PM   #13
Electrician
 
ctsmiths's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Naugatuck, CT
Posts: 186
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Post pictures of your work or violations thread!


My work: First 2 are a control panel for an extrusion machine I built and programed, Second is a LCD tv's install for data collection on molding machines.
Attached Thumbnails
Post pictures of your work or violations thread!-img_2540.jpg   Post pictures of your work or violations thread!-img_2542.jpg   Post pictures of your work or violations thread!-img_2545.jpg  
ctsmiths is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 08:10 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Post pictures of your work or violations thread!


Quote:
Originally Posted by ctsmiths View Post
My work: First 2 are a control panel for an extrusion machine I built and programed, Second is a LCD tv's install for data collection on molding machines.

Thats some nice, clean work!
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 11:00 AM   #15
Electrician
 
ctsmiths's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Naugatuck, CT
Posts: 186
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Post pictures of your work or violations thread!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigs View Post
I like how there's even a sign warning to keep the front clear.
I know it stupid isnt it?

Advertisement

ctsmiths is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to post pictures? EZ Rider Site Feedback and Suggestions 9 06-06-2007 08:15 PM
Replacing a corner post, Reinforcing the wall? jlawrence42 Building & Construction 5 08-21-2006 12:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts