Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-22-2011, 01:16 PM   #1
Member
 
NAIL BENDER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: The Heartland of Texas
Posts: 31
Share |
Question

Post lamp power


I want to run power to four post lamps, the furthest of which is about 150ft from the breaker. I planned on using UFB-14/2 through PVC conduit and I found a 'Conduit Fill Chart', but it makes my last two functioning braincells hurt.

Question is: How large PVC do I need and with the first pull being at least 75ft, is this an impossible task...?

Thanks for sharing your wisdom.
Danny aka: NAIL BENDER

NAIL BENDER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 01:53 PM   #2
Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 762
Default

Post lamp power


You don't need conduit if you use UF cable, except possibly to protect it where it comes up out of the ground.

McSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to McSteve For This Useful Post:
plummen (12-22-2011)
Old 12-22-2011, 02:29 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,461
Default

Post lamp power


Is it a straight run or are there bends in it? How many bends?
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 02:45 PM   #4
Member
 
NAIL BENDER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: The Heartland of Texas
Posts: 31
Default

Post lamp power


It will be straight runs, from breaker and post to post, so is using PVC for protection like wearing a helmet while on a motorcycle or while sitting in the Lazy-Boy watching TV...

Thanks for the help.

Last edited by NAIL BENDER; 12-22-2011 at 02:51 PM. Reason: Can't spill or spell...?
NAIL BENDER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 02:59 PM   #5
Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 762
Default

Post lamp power


Nothing wrong with doing it that way, in fact I hate direct-buried UF cable. It's somewhat failure prone and requires re-trenching to replace.

You'll definitely have an easier and probably cheaper job of it if you just run individual THWN conductors in the conduit, though. You could get by with 1/2" PVC.

If you do use the UF in conduit, I'd use 1". I think it'd be legal in 3/4", maybe even in 1/2", but it'll be much easier to pull in 1". UF is pretty stiff.

Like you, I'm having a hard time coming up with reasonable conduit fill numbers for UF.
McSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 03:12 PM   #6
Member
 
NAIL BENDER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: The Heartland of Texas
Posts: 31
Default

Post lamp power


Quote:
Originally Posted by McSteve View Post
Nothing wrong with doing it that way, in fact I hate direct-buried UF cable. It's somewhat failure prone and requires re-trenching to replace.

You'll definitely have an easier and probably cheaper job of it if you just run individual THWN conductors in the conduit, though. You could get by with 1/2" PVC.

If you do use the UF in conduit, I'd use 1". I think it'd be legal in 3/4", maybe even in 1/2", but it'll be much easier to pull in 1". UF is pretty stiff.

Like you, I'm having a hard time coming up with reasonable conduit fill numbers for UF.

Thanks McSteve, nice to know the chart thing isn't just me....

Buring wire just doesn't feel right to me, so thanks for confirming that.

I've been on this site for only a couple of days and it has served me well. You guys are great.

Thanks again.
Danny aka: NAIL BENDER
NAIL BENDER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 03:31 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 1,990
Default

Post lamp power


I think you'll have a real hard time pulling uf through that much conduit. I'd go with the thwn if it were me.
bob22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 03:51 PM   #8
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Post lamp power


If you use conduit...are you stubbing up into each pole? How were you planning to connect them...loop from one to the next?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 04:23 PM   #9
Member
 
NAIL BENDER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: The Heartland of Texas
Posts: 31
Default

Post lamp power


Yes Sir,

These lamp post are go'na be here at the ranch and will be made from surplus 'Drill Pipe', an endless commodity here in Texas. I figured I'd attach a small junction box at the base of each and connect the wires leading to the next lamp there. Should I post some photos when I get em done...?

Danny aka: NAIL BENDER
NAIL BENDER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 04:32 PM   #10
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Post lamp power


You can, but that answered my question. As long as you have JB, they are your pull boxes. You shouldn't have too much trouble pulling the runs. I'd use 3/4'" and pull individual wires. You will lose a bit of voltage at 100', but nothing significant for a lighting load.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 06:26 PM   #11
Member
 
NAIL BENDER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: The Heartland of Texas
Posts: 31
Default

Post lamp power


Good deal, 3/4 inch sounds like a trip to Home Depot.... Thanks
NAIL BENDER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 07:26 PM   #12
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Post lamp power


If you already have the 1/2" use it. The 3/4" is NOT a necessity for THWN. But you will have to pull 4 wires.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 07:48 PM   #13
Member
 
NAIL BENDER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: The Heartland of Texas
Posts: 31
Default

Post lamp power


I haven't bought any supplies yet, so this information will help me avoid the Refund Desk at Home Depot.

Thanks.
Danny aka: NAIL BENDER
NAIL BENDER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 08:20 PM   #14
Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 762
Default

Post lamp power


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
If you already have the 1/2" use it. The 3/4" is NOT a necessity for THWN. But you will have to pull 4 wires.
You sure? If these lamp posts are all going on the same circuit, he should just need a hot, neutral, and ground, yeah?
McSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2011, 08:34 PM   #15
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Post lamp power


Quote:
Originally Posted by McSteve View Post
You sure? If these lamp posts are all going on the same circuit, he should just need a hot, neutral, and ground, yeah?

Yeah, you are right...I'm experiencing yet another brain fart.....

Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Deck Post Height for Composite Post Railing ylwdog Building & Construction 5 11-15-2010 09:01 AM
old lamp post rewire tiso2010 Electrical 1 08-08-2010 05:59 PM
Wiring post outlet and lamp for light post Gordon Electrical 3 09-22-2008 02:39 PM
Electric receptacle in lamp post and flood light not working th31 Electrical 7 12-13-2007 07:46 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.