Possible To Wire Constant Outlet From Switched Outlet? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-11-2012, 08:15 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Smile

Possible to wire constant outlet from switched outlet?


Hello everyone. I'm wondering if it's possible to wire a constant outlet (one that always has power) from an outlet that is controlled by a light switch. My garage door opener is connected to an outlet in the ceiling of the garage that is controlled by a regular light switch. I would like to install an outlet that always has power to plug the garage door opener into, and would like to keep the outlet that is controlled by the switch so that I can install hanging floresent lights that will turn on and off with the light switch.

Does this make sense?

Thanks!

Advertisement

MikesHouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 08:22 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Possible to wire constant outlet from switched outlet?


If that switch doesn't control anything but the GDO, you can splice the wires that go to the switch together. That will make the outlet always hot, but it will also make anything else controlled by the switch always hot as well.

Advertisement

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 08:24 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Possible to wire constant outlet from switched outlet?


Currently there's an outlet that is switched. I need to keep that switched outlet an add an outlet that is always hot.
MikesHouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 08:32 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Possible to wire constant outlet from switched outlet?


Is both outlets controlled by switch, if they are u will need another wire, unless a three wire was already run. Then u can just break the Lil tab bridge on the hot side the receptacle.
wallajon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 08:33 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Possible to wire constant outlet from switched outlet?


There is only 1 outlet right now, controlled by the switch. I need to add another outlet that is always hot (not controlled by the switch).
MikesHouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 08:38 PM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Possible to wire constant outlet from switched outlet?


Without more information, such as wiring in the switch box and outlet box, we won't be able to tell you for sure, but it does sound like you will need to run a new wire.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 08:38 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Possible to wire constant outlet from switched outlet?


Can run another wire from switch or if there's something else near by can grab power there.
wallajon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 09:24 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,721
Rewards Points: 2,402
Default

Possible to wire constant outlet from switched outlet?


"MAYBE"

It all depends on how the wiring is laid out !

If the power goes to the outlet first,
and the switch loop goes from the outlet to the switch.
Then yes it is possable!

If how ever it is
power goes to switch,
and switched power then goes to outlet.
Then NO is is not possable
without adding extra wires.

Do you know which it is ?
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 09:27 PM   #9
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Possible to wire constant outlet from switched outlet?


Mike, is the whole outlet switched...I'm thinking it is. If so you will need another wire or forget about the switch and make the connection there. Got any idea how it's wired?
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 09:48 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Possible to wire constant outlet from switched outlet?


Thanks for the replies. I'm not sure how it's wired, will looking at the wiring at the switch tell me that?
MikesHouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 10:31 PM   #11
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Possible to wire constant outlet from switched outlet?


Quote:
Originally Posted by MikesHouse View Post
Thanks for the replies. I'm not sure how it's wired, will looking at the wiring at the switch tell me that?
No, you will have to pull the outlet and look there. Shut the breaker off if you aren't comfortable with that....and post some pictures if you can.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 11:14 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Possible to wire constant outlet from switched outlet?


I am very comfortable doing that, thanks! I will do that as soon as possible then report back. Hoping to have time this week but I may have to wait until the weekend.

Advertisement

MikesHouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing outlet - no ground wire clydesdale Electrical 17 12-18-2011 03:29 AM
tap into an outlet with black wires to wire a new one diggherwild Electrical 3 12-07-2011 09:19 PM
Adding ceiling fan to switched outlet keeping switched outlet. dhanawa1 Electrical 1 07-06-2011 05:52 PM
Switched outlet series Overkll Electrical 4 12-07-2010 08:38 AM
Adding ground in old home ChaosTheory Electrical 6 06-16-2010 05:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts