Is It Possible To Override IR Sensor With Single Switch? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-13-2011, 01:28 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Is it possible to override IR sensor with single switch?


Hi
I'm installing an outdoor twin flood light with motion sensor and I am thinking of using a single pole wall switch to bypass the ir sensor when desired. Is the following install viable ?
The incoming power(Hot) is connected to one hot leg of sensor along with one leg of wall switch. The output leg of sensor and wall switch now go directly to the both hot wires of the floods.
The incoming Neutral is direct to neutral legs of sensor and floods.
Will this configuration allow the wall switch to over ride the sensor and power the flloods although no motion is detected ?
FYI The light fixture model is a Heath/Zenith SL-5412
I have tried to attach a crude schematic of my plan,not sure if it attached.

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Is it possible to override IR sensor with single switch?-floodlight.jpg  

Advertisement

torizus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 01:52 PM   #2
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Is it possible to override IR sensor with single switch?


Electrically it would work but what you do not know is how the IR circuit is made. You would be placing line voltage on the output side of the IR device when it could be in the inactive state which would be OK if the output is a mechanical relay. If it is some type of solid state device it may damage it.

Advertisement

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 02:13 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,978
Rewards Points: 2,212
Default

Is it possible to override IR sensor with single switch?


You need a 3-way switch. Connect the power to the common screw. In one position the power will be switched through to the IR sensor. switched to the other position power will be supplied directly to the fixture.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 02:43 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 299
Rewards Points: 278
Default

Is it possible to override IR sensor with single switch?


lol..

no. dont do this.

buy a motion flood light with override (typically turn light switch on, then off, then on within 1 second and it will manually turn light on and leave it on).

they are abundantly common.
jcrack_corn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 03:54 PM   #5
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Is it possible to override IR sensor with single switch?


He doesn't need a different light, he needs to read the manual
Attached Thumbnails
Is it possible to override IR sensor with single switch?-heath-motion-lite.jpg  

Last edited by a7ecorsair; 03-13-2011 at 03:55 PM. Reason: wording
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 04:05 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Is it possible to override IR sensor with single switch?


Thanks for the quick responses, introducing line volt into the sensor output is my main concern but most likely only a Zenith engineer could confirm it. That prob ain't gonna happen.
My primary objective was to somewhat illuminate an area outside of the motion sensors directed focus. This is to check my field prior to allowing my dogs out, the sensor is directed at the patio and rear doors but not the doors that the dogs come out of,which will not trigger the sensor. This model does have the reset feature as you suggested, I guess using that is being sure and safe as opposed to taking chances on the alternative.

Thanks for opinions.

Advertisement

torizus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Single Pole Switch, but 5 wires in wall and ceiling jmo1112 Electrical 4 10-11-2010 09:51 PM
Convert single pole switch to a 3 way! Wildie Electrical 19 05-13-2010 11:20 AM
Replacing a bathroom fan switch cmacjr22 Electrical 4 11-04-2008 07:14 PM
Help with single pole switch ballutster Electrical 2 10-13-2008 08:57 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 02:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts