Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-13-2007, 08:51 PM   #16
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,136
Share |
Default

Is it possible I have a 220 running to my dish washer?


Yup you could, you would only use one of the wires on the plug unless you wanted a split plug.

But I would check the rating on the dishwater and see how much current it draws, like i said before i do commericial and don't deal with dishwashers but i would assume they have a high current draw if they have a heater in them.

Your disposal should be a low current draw and you should be able to put a plug on with that circuit, unless it says in the NEC that a garbage dispossal needs a dedicated ciruit.

darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 09:43 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 13
Default

Is it possible I have a 220 running to my dish washer?


Is what I'm looking for a 3-wire outlet?

If not, what about this. Run the Black and White to outlet A. Outlet A will go to dish washer. Then run the Red to outlet B, along with a second White coming directly from Outlet A. Outlet B will go to disposal. Yeah? Like it?

I'd be cool if I could turn the 3-wire into a pair of two-wires going to two different places using just one outlet, though.
aljanney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 09:49 PM   #18
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,183
Default

Is it possible I have a 220 running to my dish washer?


Quote:
Unfortunately it cost you a new disposal.
And...fortunately it ONLY cost you a new disposal.

Quote:
I'd be cool if I could turn the 3-wire into a pair of two-wires going to two different places using just one outlet, though.
You can IF and only if you break the tab out of the hot side of the receptacle (the tab between the screws...the screws which, by the way, you should be using to make your connections , as opposed to the backstabs )
jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 12:15 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 35
Default

Is it possible I have a 220 running to my dish washer?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jproffer View Post
And...fortunately it ONLY cost you a new disposal.



You can IF and only if you break the tab out of the hot side of the receptacle (the tab between the screws...the screws which, by the way, you should be using to make your connections , as opposed to the backstabs )
And IF the 3-conductor remains on a two-pole breaker, circuits in the same device need to be disconnected with the same pull.
Sportbilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 12:50 AM   #20
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,183
Default

Is it possible I have a 220 running to my dish washer?


Well yes that's correct. I tend to assume things sometimes and I assumed that's what he was going to do.

touche'
jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 02:08 AM   #21
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,875
Default

Is it possible I have a 220 running to my dish washer?


Quote:
Is what I'm looking for a 3-wire outlet?
NO

I'm sorry but I need to get on page one again. First your confusing me with your terminololgy, though I think I know what your saying.

My first question is what kind of wiring do you have? ....cables like nm (romex) with wires coming out of a plastic or a cloth looking outer sheath? this is what it sounds like you have. You said you cut a wire to the dishwasher....ie ....you should say cable.

Or wires that are coming from metal conduits/pipes?

If you have nm cables do they have a bare copper wire with the other insulated wires? Joed asked you this earlier in the thread.

I'm asking this because if you do not have a equipment ground either from conduit or bare wires then you cannot extend this circuit to a disposal (NEC section 406.3). Basically you cannot extend the circuit to a grounding type receptacle. You can replace an existing nongrounded receptacle, however.

But this leads me to more questions so I can figure out what you have going on.

This is obviously a multiwire shared neutral circuit. Thing I'm not getting is how did you wire the disposal to place 220 volts on it?

So....give details .....explain what you did and what color of wires did you connect and how and to what before you toasted your new disposal.

Specifically when you cut the cable you cut the shared neutral so what did you do with the white wire?

Is the disposal cord and plug?

Where is the switch for the disposal?

Is the dishwasher cord and plug or hardwired?

You might have got lucky and the disposal reset button may have popped out on the bottom of your disposal (if it has a reset).


If you do not have a equipment ground you most definitely want to run a new cable with a ground wire in it. This is an appliance that has lots of metal that can be touched so equipment ground IMO is an absolute must have in your situation. Look carefully for that equipment ground. Usually houses built with romex (nm) cables with no ground for the wiring method ocurred in the 60's and older. If you have metal conduit then it may be your ground.

My opinion is to put the multiwire back the way it was.... serving the dishwasher and whatever else.

Run a new dedicated 15 amp circuit with ground to the disposal and switch.

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 02-14-2007 at 02:15 AM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 06:10 AM   #22
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,782
Default

Is it possible I have a 220 running to my dish washer?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sportbilly View Post
And IF the 3-conductor remains on a two-pole breaker, circuits in the same device need to be disconnected with the same pull.
I think you are a bit mixed up. With a two-pole breaker both circuits will inherently be disconnected.

Meaning, if the multi-wire circuit terminates on one device both circuits must be disconnected by the same pull.
If a two-pole breaker is used it does not matter what is on the other end, the code for disconnecting is satisfied.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 09:26 AM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 13
Default

Is it possible I have a 220 running to my dish washer?


This is a bit embarrassing, but this is what I did and this proves I should have hired a pro:

When I cut the original 'cable', I found a black, red and white wire. None of them were bare. I called a buddy, and we reasoned around until we decided the red one was the neutral and the white was the ground. I forget why we decided this, but looking back on it I feel rather stupid.

So I wired up a new outlet, with the red serving as the neutral and the white as the ground. (Incidentally, the reason I decided to use this cable is because it was wired up to it's own fuse box. But it was really old, the kind with circular glass fuses, and so I wanted to remove it and decided while doing it, I'd run an additional wire to the disposal) So that is why I fried the disposal. I had a hot wire serving as the neutral, and the neutral as the ground. I've already sacrificed a goat as a thank-offering I'm still alive.

New plan: Run both black and red to the outlet, but punch out the tab so they don't connect. Then run black to dish washer and red to disposal. Run a ground to the outlet by following the 3-cable back until it dissappears near a sub-panel and connect it with that ground. All of this will be on the two-pole breaker.

I'm also going to see if I can fix the disposal with the reset button. That would be great.

Al

Last edited by aljanney; 02-14-2007 at 09:28 AM. Reason: Forgot about that.
aljanney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 09:28 PM   #24
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,136
Default

Is it possible I have a 220 running to my dish washer?


Guess you learned your lesson the hard way.

Here are some basics of home wiring for next time.

Ground will always be bare copper or ground.

The white wire is neutral 99% of the time in 120V circuits. The only time i can think that it would be hot would be for a switch leg, that is used when power comes to the light fixture first, then you use 2 wire to go to the switch, power down to switch on the white and then power back to the fixture on the black.

On 240V circuits the white can also be used as hot, i.e baeboard heaters and hot water tanks.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 12:51 AM   #25
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,183
Default

Is it possible I have a 220 running to my dish washer?


Actually, I'd still say he learned a lesson the easy way. A new $150 garbage disposal and a "honey, I F---ed up" and he's home free. Nobody's dead, which very well could have happened. The house didn't burn down, which also wouldn't have been a total surprise.

Yea it's a lesson that cost him $150, but when you think a little more about it, it's a lesson that ONLY cost him $150.

Oh, and Darren, I know what you meant but the ground will be bare or green....you wrote ground...just FYI
jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 10:08 PM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 13
Default

Is it possible I have a 220 running to my dish washer?


Wiring is great. Popped the tab out of the outlet.
Didn't have to replace the dispoal. Just hit the triggered reset button.
Both work fine.
You guys rule.
Am proceeding with caution next time, or hiring a pro.

aljanney is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Washer drain peloncito Appliances 7 08-04-2007 12:56 AM
running washer drain sedwick Plumbing 8 02-12-2007 05:10 PM
dish and clothes washer drainfield rosiesunimind Plumbing 1 02-11-2007 04:41 PM
Location of 220 and 110 outlets for dryer and washer JAJJ Electrical 2 08-07-2006 09:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.