Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-04-2010, 09:51 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Is it possible to add a receptacle to a 3-way switch?


Is it possible to add a receptacle to a 3-way switch?
The power goes from the light fixture to the first switch.
If it's possible, where shall I put the receptacle? Before or after the switches?

ellem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 10:25 AM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,921
Rewards Points: 2,636
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Is it possible to add a receptacle to a 3-way switch?


If you only have one 3 wire cable or a 3 wire and 2 wire cable then it is not possible if the power goes the fixture first. There is no neutral present in the switch box.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
ellem (09-05-2010)
Old 09-04-2010, 10:34 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: north central pa
Posts: 160
Rewards Points: 147
Default

Is it possible to add a receptacle to a 3-way switch?


the only recommended place to tap off the unswitched incoming power is the first box in the circuit it comes into.

Last edited by TimPa; 09-04-2010 at 10:37 AM.
TimPa is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TimPa For This Useful Post:
ellem (09-05-2010)
Old 09-04-2010, 09:35 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,921
Rewards Points: 2,636
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Is it possible to add a receptacle to a 3-way switch?


Quote:
Originally Posted by TimPa View Post
the only recommended place to tap off the unswitched incoming power is the first box in the circuit it comes into.
Not true. You can tap power from any junction box on the circuit with unswitched power.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
ellem (09-05-2010)
Old 09-05-2010, 01:12 AM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Is it possible to add a receptacle to a 3-way switch?


Quote:
Originally Posted by TimPa View Post
the only recommended place to tap off the unswitched incoming power is the first box in the circuit it comes into.
Not alway the case you can tap in somewhere else but there are few area it is off limit is Kitchen circuits , outside recetales , Bathroom , Garage { that my part it off limit anyway }and dinning room as well due some of the dinning room use the SABC as well so that is off limit.

So those following room is off limit when you do the tapping to other junction boxes.

Those listed room have it own circuit per NEC code { CEC as well }

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
ellem (09-05-2010)
Old 09-05-2010, 09:46 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: north central pa
Posts: 160
Rewards Points: 147
Default

Is it possible to add a receptacle to a 3-way switch?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Not true. You can tap power from any junction box on the circuit with unswitched power.
you're right, that implies universally agreed upon. i should have worded it as i recommend tapping power in the first box, as tapping it in a 3 way swirch box is not fun. and, since power entered the light box first on the op's circuit, it would have made determining the hot wire another obstacle for him.
TimPa is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TimPa For This Useful Post:
ellem (09-05-2010)
Old 09-05-2010, 01:00 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Is it possible to add a receptacle to a 3-way switch?


Thanks for all the responses. I guess it's not really possible. I made an attempt, with the result that I get power to the outlet only when the lights are off? 3-way switch works fine though.
ellem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 05:17 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,965
Rewards Points: 2,026
Default

Is it possible to add a receptacle to a 3-way switch?


Quote:
You can tap power from any junction box on the circuit with unswitched power.
A reminder, the neutral you need/use must be in the same cable (ergo come from the same tap point) as the unswitched power you are using.

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a Hot Receptacle to a 3-Way Switch Coady Electrical 2 09-03-2010 12:11 PM
New pressure switch and inducer and still incorrect drafting kevintabb HVAC 5 01-19-2010 12:59 PM
Switched receptacle wiring problem. sheshore Electrical 6 09-27-2009 01:37 PM
Switch / Receptacle mikbro Electrical 11 10-31-2008 04:15 PM
changing a fixture to an outlet - keeping the switch aweshucks Electrical 4 12-27-2007 05:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.