Is This Possible? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-12-2009, 02:59 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 257
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Is this possible?


Is it possible to have two 220V receptacles on the same circuit?

I currently have a 220 recep. in my garage for my welder. I would like to have one on the opposite side of the wall (exterior) for my compressor as well. They would never be used at the same time, if that matters.

I still need to check to see what size breaker the existing circuit is using.

Thanks!!!

Advertisement

mopowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 05:01 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 41
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Is this possible?


Before doing anything be sure to consult your local electrical and building codes. High-voltage circuits are nothing to play with. You can have two outlets but you've gotta be careful not to exceed the amperage of the circuit breaker, outlets, and of course the installed wiring.

This may be a task better left to a licensed electrician.

Advertisement

Plumb And Light is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 06:04 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 204
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Is this possible?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Plumb And Light View Post
High-voltage circuits are nothing to play with.
well it surely ain't rocket science either

wire a 2nd outlet up, use properly gauged wire. done.
johnnyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 06:27 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Is this possible?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Plumb And Light View Post
Before doing anything be sure to consult your local electrical and building codes. High-voltage circuits are nothing to play with. You can have two outlets but you've gotta be careful not to exceed the amperage of the circuit breaker, outlets, and of course the installed wiring.

This may be a task better left to a licensed electrician.
High voltage? What do you consider high voltage?
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 06:33 PM   #5
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

Is this possible?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryh3 View Post
High voltage? What do you consider high voltage?
I was wondering what he was thinking as well, what would he think of a 480V or 600V system.
darren is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 12:57 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 257
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Is this possible?


I am going to consult an electrician on this. I was just curious how the 2 recepticals are hooked up, if they only have one set of lugs n the back.

FYI: the existing 220 recep. is on a 50 amp circuit.
mopowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 02:40 AM   #7
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,231
Rewards Points: 2,432
Default

Is this possible?


Your wiring likely is 6 awg copper protected by a 50 amp breaker...you would need to splice at the welder receptacle box and pigtail to the receptacle then on to the other outlet. However the air compressor may require a smaller breaker than the welder to be code compliant. Might be hard to meet code doing what you ask.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 09:01 AM   #8
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Is this possible?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Plumb And Light View Post
Before doing anything be sure to consult your local electrical and building codes. High-voltage circuits are nothing to play with. You can have two outlets but you've gotta be careful not to exceed the amperage of the circuit breaker, outlets, and of course the installed wiring.

This may be a task better left to a licensed electrician.
Good advice for certain, but please remember that this is a DIY forum. When we can help someone we do, when we absolutely cannot...Then we send them to the pros.

As for the statements about high voltage subsequent to P&L's post:
220v certainly isn't high voltage but it'll kill you just as effectively.

Advertisement

Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts