Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-23-2012, 08:05 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 75
Share |
Default

Portable generator wiring


Hello,
Have 200amp main panel and would like to have full panel availability, of course not all at the same time. Generator will be 8kw range. Entire home is NG.

Original plan was to install interlock kit, 30 amp double pole backfed breaker and 30 amp power box inlet.

However, reading I discover the double neutral-ground bond at both the generator and the panel is not code. Unbonding the generator is frowned upon. I have read this is only a problem with GFCI protected receptacles on the generator?

It seems this code has only been around for 5 years max? So, the majority of generators are wired according to my original plan without neutral unbonding transfer switches?

I have been unable to find a 200amp 3 pole manual transfer switch to unbond the neutral-ground.

How would I accomplish having the full panel available and still be up to code with a portable generator? As stated earlier, it would seem most all portable generators have been installed with the power box, interlock kit of some kind and backfed breaker.

Thanks for any advice you can offer.

7474 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 09:08 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 90
Default

Portable generator wiring


Here it is, but its not cheap:

http://www.steadypower.com/products....3Ph%2C-200A%29

I guess you decided against the permanent-automatic setup?


Last edited by Auger01; 07-23-2012 at 09:10 AM.
Auger01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 09:26 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 75
Default

Portable generator wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Auger01 View Post
Here it is, but its not cheap:

http://www.steadypower.com/products....3Ph%2C-200A%29

I guess you decided against the permanent-automatic setup?
With prices like those I will just go with the permanent!!!

Can't get convince myself to get the permanent when we have only had about 2 hours of power outage over the past 6 years.

Was trying to do the portable to save money. Would like to use the portable, 30 amp inlet power box, 30 amp double pole backfed breaker and Square D interlock. I see this is how things have been done for almost ever but the codes have changed. But, if I am dead the money saved does me no good.
7474 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 09:35 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 90
Default

Portable generator wiring


Some portables have instructions to remove the neutral-ground bond to make them kosher with the interlock setups. Winco is one that comes to mind:

http://www.wincogen.com/tri_fuel_generators/
Auger01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 09:58 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 75
Default

Portable generator wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Auger01 View Post
Some portables have instructions to remove the neutral-ground bond to make them kosher with the interlock setups. Winco is one that comes to mind:

http://www.wincogen.com/tri_fuel_generators/
Thanks.
I have read both ways to unbond and not to unbond. If unbonded, it can only be used with the house?

The winco 9000 costs about $2600. For that cost, I would just spend more and have a Generac 14kw installed and power my AC along with the house, not worry about set-up.

I was looking to spend about $1,500 total with generator, inlet, cord, and double pole breaker.

I can't imagine all the people with this current set-up will be changing to a 3 pole transfer switch.
7474 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 08:13 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 75
Default

Portable generator wiring


Please correct my set-up if needed.
1) Unbond generator, looking at Ridgid 6800 or 8000 secondary to THD 5%
2) install 30 amp power inlet box
3) 10/3 or 8/3 romex from box to panel
4) 30 double pole breaker
5) interlock kit

Thanks again
7474 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 08:15 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

Portable generator wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by 7474 View Post
Please correct my set-up if needed.
OK



Quote:
Originally Posted by 7474 View Post
1) LEAVE generator bonded! looking at Ridgid 6800 or 8000 secondary to THD 5%
2) install 30 amp power inlet box
3) 10/3 or 8/3 romex from box to panel
4) 30 double pole breaker
5) interlock kit
As long as you are running a cord from the genny to the inlet box you leave the genny bonded and just use an interlock.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 08:38 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 75
Default

Portable generator wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
OK





As long as you are running a cord from the genny to the inlet box you leave the genny bonded and just use an interlock.
Appreciate the reply.
I thought that electrical code stipulated you couldn't have neutral bonds at generator and panel since I will not be using a transfer switch to switch neutrals?
7474 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 09:01 PM   #9
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,892
Default

Portable generator wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by 7474 View Post
Appreciate the reply.
I thought that electrical code stipulated you couldn't have neutral bonds at generator and panel since I will not be using a transfer switch to switch neutrals?
Technically you can't, but with 99% of them wired this way and a death rate of zero, seems legit to me. lol....
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 09:04 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 90
Default

Portable generator wiring


Strictly speaking, if the neutral is not switched, then you should unbond the generator. With that being said many, if not most, people dont bother to unbond thier genny.

If in the future you do decide to use the generator in a stand alone mode, then it would be important to rebond the generator.

By the way, what motor comes on the Rigid?
Auger01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 09:09 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 75
Default

Portable generator wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Technically you can't, but with 99% of them wired this way and a death rate of zero, seems legit to me. lol....
Thanks, appreciate your reply.
I have seen you mention this on other forums. How do you have yours set-up? I think you mentioned it on another forum but I have been reading so much it has all become a blur.
Does the generator require a grounding rod?

Last edited by 7474; 07-23-2012 at 09:11 PM.
7474 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 09:10 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 75
Default

Portable generator wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Auger01 View Post
Strictly speaking, if the neutral is not switched, then you should unbond the generator. With that being said many, if not most, people dont bother to unbond thier genny.

If in the future you do decide to use the generator in a stand alone mode, then it would be important to rebond the generator.

By the way, what motor comes on the Rigid?
Thanks. How do you have yours set-up? Does the generator require a grounding rod.
I believe the 6800 has a Yamaha and the 8000 has a Subaru, or vice versa. One better than the other?
7474 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 09:12 PM   #13
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,892
Default

Portable generator wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by 7474 View Post
Thanks, appreciate your reply.
I have seen you mention this on other forums. How do you have yours set-up? I think you mentioned it on another forum but I have been reading so much it has all become a blur.
I am the 99%... I have a 100amp 2pole manual transfer switch...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 09:14 PM   #14
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,892
Default

Portable generator wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by 7474 View Post
Thanks. How do you have yours set-up? Does the generator require a grounding rod.
I believe the 6800 has a Yamaha and the 8000 has a Subaru, or vice versa. One better than the other?
You only need a ground rod if you switch the neutral in the transfer switch.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 09:16 PM   #15
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,892
Default

Portable generator wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by 7474 View Post
Thanks, appreciate your reply.
I have seen you mention this on other forums. How do you have yours set-up? I think you mentioned it on another forum but I have been reading so much it has all become a blur.
Does the generator require a grounding rod?
I really do think people should start installing 3 pole transfer switches and comply with the NEC, but this has been overlooked for so long, it will take a long time to educate everyone to accept this method.

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Preventing portable AC leaks Anesthesiologis Appliances 2 07-20-2012 10:21 PM
Portable Gen Set - Home Connections & Distance ArtF Electrical 1 06-15-2012 10:54 PM
Portable Dishwasher hookup MagsMom Plumbing 3 06-04-2009 10:09 PM
Portable saw Question Gettingintoit Tools 10 11-03-2008 07:45 AM
Portable air conditioners; who's got one? (No draining! Yet most say draining req'd?) Deck Appliances 1 07-16-2008 10:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.