Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-04-2012, 01:09 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Portable Generator on (1) 200A panel on 320 service. How to do it?


I am familiar with the setup for a single 200A panel, and installing a manual interlock and power inlet box. Is it the same for a house with (2) 200A panels, if I only need to run one of them on the generator for some general lights and outlets? Can I just hookup the panel that I need and leave the other one alone, or will there be an issue with the neutrals when the utility power comes back on? Because at that point, one panel would be on generator power and the other panel would be running on utility power. How should I go about this?
josh700 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 06:23 AM   #2
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,574
Default

Portable Generator on (1) 200A panel on 320 service. How to do it?


break the neutral at the panel that the genny is running
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 07:32 AM   #3
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,052
Default

Portable Generator on (1) 200A panel on 320 service. How to do it?


I don't believe it's an issue the generator panel neutral will run back to the generator because that's where it was created and the utility to the transformer because that's where it was created.
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 07:50 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,779
Default

Portable Generator on (1) 200A panel on 320 service. How to do it?


Is one 200 amp panel a subpanel relative to the other?

A cam or slider interlock must block the utility power from that entire panel by preventing the master breaker for that panel from being flipped on. Such an interlock may work with a "lug panel" (no top breaker) where both the generator feed and the utility power feed come in from the side (backfeed).

First and foremost, the interlock must be intended for that make and model of panel.

I actually advocate not breaking (unbonding) the neutral from ground for the purpose of hooking up a generator via cord and plug and male receptacle, if to do so is inconvenient.
__________________
The average homeowner who lost his house in the Oklahoma tornadoes should move for good and not rebuild. Too much complexity watchdogging the contractor. Too much a chance to be defrauded.

Last edited by AllanJ; 10-04-2012 at 08:00 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
distribution panel amperage rating tom31415926 Electrical 10 08-26-2012 04:09 PM
Mobile Home Electrical Panel Replacement rrolleston Electrical 2 01-28-2012 05:27 PM
100A to 200A upgrade Photos. Please provide any feedback. mcnutter1 Electrical 14 01-23-2012 01:18 PM
Running from outside service panel into basement ksl420 Electrical 0 03-21-2011 11:30 AM
Rewire 200A service entrance OffRoadAudio Electrical 4 08-24-2009 02:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.