Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-19-2011, 10:13 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Portable display with outlets


My wife wants me to build her a portable display with built in outlets. She sells electric scent warmers and some of them are plug ins (think like the glade ones) I am just trying to figure out how to wire up the electrical (a diagram would be great) she would probably want 3 outlets. THANKS in advance for any advice you can give.

MikeB78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 10:15 PM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Portable display with outlets


How about you draw up some sort of display that you and she have in mind and we'll tell you the best way to put in the electrical for it?

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 10:27 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Default

Portable display with outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
How about you draw up some sort of display that you and she have in mind and we'll tell you the best way to put in the electrical for it?
Something like this


Hope that works trying to do this from my cell phone!
MikeB78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 10:46 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Portable display with outlets


Put them on GFCI for sure. I would have reservations regarding the how you plug this thing in? What are you planning for the cord and plug?
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 12:57 PM   #5
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Portable display with outlets


Ya, that was great mike. Now, what are you looking for? What you have there seems to be quite simple. Either the backside would have to be enclosed or each individual recep would have to be in an approved box such as an "old work" box. The enclosed back would be simpler.


Quite simply, a black #12 wire from each "hot" terminal "daisy chained" to each of the other hot terminals on each of the other receptacles. A white #12 wire for the "neutral" and green #12 wire "ground". GFCI protection wouldn't be a bad idea. If you do that, use just one and feed from the load side of that GFCI to the other receps.

To feed the GFCI recep, I would use a pre-made 6' whip with a plug on the end. Use a "cord grip" or "strain relief" where the whip passes through the back side of the box. If you want or need to incorporate a switch in the circuit, that would be easy enough.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 04:48 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Portable display with outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeB78 View Post
Something like this


Hope that works trying to do this from my cell phone!
designed2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 04:53 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Portable display with outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by designed2 View Post
electrical dislpay box enclosed to display electrial warmer and plug in candlesI sell Scentsy warmers and need an electrical diplay to show my warmers You can email me at designed2@comcast,net thankyou
designed2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 04:54 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Portable display with outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by designed2 View Post
electrical dislpay box enclosed to display electrial warmer and plug in candlesI sell Scentsy warmers and need an electrical diplay to show my warmers You can email me at designed2@comcast,net thankyou

designed2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 wire outlets: connect neutral to ground? border collie Electrical 19 04-12-2013 12:29 PM
do I need GFI for all kitchen counter outlets DanDaMan Electrical 2 03-06-2011 06:33 AM
bathrooms and outdoor outlets not working maybecalifornia Electrical 1 03-04-2011 06:24 PM
outlets work, but barely (?) joeyboy Electrical 7 08-27-2008 08:37 AM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 01:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.