Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-09-2013, 07:16 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Alabama
Posts: 10
Share |
Default

Porch and closet


Hello all,
I am still working on my remodel and have reached the front porch. Adding the porch (10' x 16') also involved ripping off an old closet and adding it back correctly (10' x 3'). The back wall of the closet is one of the exterior walls and therefor backs up to the porch (total 10' x 19'). I am also adding a small laundry room with a stackable washer/dryer near there.

Goals:
1) I am turning that closet into a small sewing/hobby area and wanted to add a plug.
2) I need to have a plug on the porch.

Problems/Questions:
1) Should I, extend the bedroom (11' x 14') circuit (20 A), adding a plug for the closet and then out that shared wall to a GFCI plug.
2) Should I run a new 15 A GFCI circuit all together?
3) Is it ok to feed off the washer plug or is that required to be dedicated? The laundry room is close enough to all of this to be any easy tie.
4) Lastly, is there a required maximum/minimum distance that the GFCI porch outlet can be from the front door? I've been told there is, but I sure don't understand the logic and doing so will make this significantly harder.

Thoughts?

Thanks!

gmyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 09:54 PM   #2
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Default

Porch and closet


I can't answer all your questions, but I can tell you that the Washing Machine circuit has to remain dedicated.
You could run a new 15 amp or 20 amp receptacle circuit, and place a couple of plugs in the hobby room, and install a GFCI plug on the front porch. Coming off the bedroom circuit may not be the best idea, due to AFCI requirements.
Some of your questions may depend upon the edition of the NEC that your area has adopted.


Last edited by Kyle_in_rure; 02-09-2013 at 09:57 PM.
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Kyle_in_rure For This Useful Post:
gmyers (02-10-2013)
Old 02-09-2013, 11:21 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,781
Default

Porch and closet


http://www.renovation-headquarters.c...-6-12-code.htm

No outlets in a closet, dedacated 20 amp. line to washer

Need to go back and add your location to your profile so someone on here would know what your local codes call for.
I would run 12-2 on a 20 amp breaker for the outlets so you could safely run a a space heater.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 07:06 AM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,783
Default

Porch and closet


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
http://www.renovation-headquarters.c...-6-12-code.htm

No outlets in a closet, dedacated 20 amp. line to washer

Need to go back and add your location to your profile so someone on here would know what your local codes call for.
I would run 12-2 on a 20 amp breaker for the outlets so you could safely run a a space heater.
Receptacles are allowed in closets by the NEC.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (02-10-2013), jbfan (02-10-2013), oh'mike (02-10-2013)
Old 02-10-2013, 03:25 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Alabama
Posts: 10
Default

Porch and closet


... AFCI requirements...
Good point. Forgot about that one. Might tie the closet off the bedroom and then drop a new circuit for the porch.
gmyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 03:30 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Alabama
Posts: 10
Default

Porch and closet


washer: I wasn't sure, so thanks for clarifying.
closet: The layout of this closet allows it to be broken up into two smaller ones 2x (3' x 3') with the plug in the middle of it.

So, I'm hearing both "yay" and "nay". Which one is it?
gmyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 03:38 PM   #7
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Default

Porch and closet


Due to possible AFCI requirements,you could run the new closet plug off the bedroom circuit (is the bedroom the only thing on this circuit?), because technically bedrooms and other receptacle circuits will require AFCI breaker protection, depending on your local codes and whatever you are updating
The porch GFCI can have a new circuit.


Last edited by Kyle_in_rure; 02-10-2013 at 03:40 PM.
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
closet, porch


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Insulating enclosed porch countrygirl71 Insulation 2 09-17-2012 09:22 PM
What to do about a Damp Crawl Space under front porch? vpr80 Building & Construction 9 04-11-2012 08:32 PM
Cubby above a closet nlmedic Building & Construction 6 09-20-2011 10:35 AM
Bi-fold closet door question Breakthecycle2 Carpentry 4 04-28-2011 05:43 PM
closet or tile first ? littlerascal Remodeling 3 08-07-2010 12:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.