Pop Up Camper Fridge Replacement - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-08-2009, 10:20 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

pop up camper fridge replacement


Our 95 Palomino pop up camper fridge is in need of replacement. Now that the dorm style fridges are on sale I thought I would take on the project. Silly me assumed it would be as easy as unplugging the old and plugging in the new. It seems I will have to cut off the 3 prong plug and attach the wires to the existing outlet. First I'm wondering if this can be done with just a 1.7 cu. ft. dorm fridge? The existing fridge is a 'Dandy' brand 115v fridge the only thing I'm concerned with is the old fridge has a pretty long cord and I'm afraid the dorm fridge cord will be shorter, I'm getting ahead of myself. First and foremost is this a safe thing to do if the voltage from both fridges is the same? Any other reasons why I couldnt attempt this?

thanks

Advertisement

pamelajo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 10:43 AM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

pop up camper fridge replacement


Is your old fridge a 3 way fridge, if so you will have to get rid of the gas line and the DC voltage line.

I would be carefull about putting a dorn fridge in a tight compartment because the heat has to leave from somehwere and if that is the back of the fridge your cabinet could get very warm.

Advertisement

darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 03:39 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

pop up camper fridge replacement


Do you have a Danby brand unit? They make various small refrigerator units. There is probably already allowance for ventilation - check to be sure. What is the existing 3 prong outlet if differenct from a normal household 115v outlet - is that it's hardwired? If hardwired and the cord on the new unit is too short, maybe the way to go is to open up the new refrigerator and see how the existing cord is attached there - and replace the entire cord with longer wire.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help My Admiral Refrigerator is leaking water Cuwillis Appliances 10 03-25-2014 09:21 AM
Fridge not cooling - evap fan? oppiecat Appliances 4 07-02-2013 05:19 PM
Anyone ever paint a fridge? BioHazard Interior Decorating 15 03-02-2009 02:47 PM
Hotpoint freezer cool fridge too cool Maddyrosedad Appliances 1 02-19-2009 06:38 AM
Freezer leaking into Fridge? jc2709 Appliances 1 05-23-2007 10:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts