Pool Wiring - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-07-2006, 01:32 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Pool wiring


Hello,
I just had my fiberglass pool installed and it is now time for the electric. So far I have passed my bonding inspection and need to move on. I've trenched 20 inches down and am running #6 thwn (2 blk, 1 wht,1 grn) in 1 inch conduit to a 125a panel with dual timers. I will be hooking up a 1hp filter pump, 3/4 hp vacum pump, and pool lighting. The motors will both be 220 and 110 for the lights. My question is do I need to use GFCB's for each individual circuit in the subpanel or does using one at the main panel where I am pulling the feeder from suffice? Also, I have an exterior outlet on the back of my house that is 16 ft from the pool. I know the distance is within the 20 ft requirement. The outlet is a non-gfi outlet in a weather proof box, but is on the same circuit that has a gfi outlet as the first outlet coming from the main panel. Will this suffice for my pool outlet?

Thanks, Brian

Advertisement

jersey5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2006, 01:37 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

Pool wiring


1) Yes you can use one GFI breaker to feed the panel, though I do not reccommend it. I would spring for the extra branch breakers. If you have a problem you can isolate it without having the whole panel down.

2) The existing convenience receptacle is perffectly fine. It does not have to be a GFI device. It just has to be GFI protected.

Advertisement

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2006, 01:56 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Pool wiring


Thanks Speedy for that quick responce. Let me ask you one more thing. In my pool subpanel I have a neutral bar and a ground bar. Obviously the pigtail for the GFCB would go to the neutral bar in the pool sub panel. In my main panel the neutrals and the grounds all seem to go to the same bars. Would the GFCB that is for the feeder hook to the same bar that the grounds and the neutrals are all hooked to?
jersey5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2006, 02:11 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

Pool wiring


In the main panel, yes.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2006, 02:46 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Pool wiring


Thanks again for the help!
jersey5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
swimming pool wiring specs waype@fuse.net Electrical 2 07-21-2006 08:47 PM
Pool Wiring phinfan1266 Electrical 4 06-27-2006 03:31 PM
GFI Breaker & pool pump mitchman333 Electrical 7 05-08-2006 06:32 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 08:52 PM
Garage - Protecting wiring installation eastment Electrical 4 11-26-2005 12:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts