Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-02-2008, 06:03 PM   #16
Floor Sweeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central MN
Posts: 353
Share |
Default

Pool Sub Panel wire / conduit questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by Al the Diy guy View Post
I see posts saying NO PVC inside of homes...
I have never heard of such a thing...

junkcollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 06:15 PM   #17
Oldbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 51
Default

Pool Sub Panel wire / conduit questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by junkcollector View Post
I have never heard of such a thing...

Perhaps I am wrong, I have only seen it in two seperate post on the Gardenweb site. but hey, I do not know thats why I am here. So looking around a bit I think the ENT will work, I kinda like the stuff, I used it for my audio video run when I hung my flat screen and it was good. And looking at carlon's web site http://www.carlon.com/Flexible%20Rac...2B34-Jan02.pdf

it appears to be within code (by the way it is also made of PVC!!) So other than that anyone see any problems??
Al the Diy guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 06:21 PM   #18
Oldbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 51
Default

Pool Sub Panel wire / conduit questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
Personally, this is how I tackle any in ground swimming pool, I install the remote panel at the pool equipment, then either hardwire the equipment or install receptacles for each piece of equipment... but with the panel so close to the equipment it makes it a snap... I live in the northeast so the pool pumps need to go inside in the winter so they all get cords, 3' is the maximum cord length...

Chris- I thought about doing the corded method but my panel is 4 ft above the pump. But I am using a liquid tight whip and can disconect the wires from inside the pump if I decide to bring the beast in for the winter. (fredericksburg, VA) still gets a bit cold here (20's) in the winter, but the pump has two drain plugs. Thanks for all.
Al the Diy guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 06:46 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 207
Default

Pool Sub Panel wire / conduit questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by LawnGuyLandSparky View Post
You cannot feed a pool panel with cable.
Sounds like the panel is on his house. So he could feed to that panel and then switch to ridge or EMT to the pool unit with THHN couldn't he?
kgphoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 07:28 PM   #20
Oldbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 51
Default

Pool Sub Panel wire / conduit questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by kgphoto View Post
Sounds like the panel is on his house. So he could feed to that panel and then switch to ridge or EMT to the pool unit with THHN couldn't he?

KG, the Main panel is in my finished basement, the pool sub panel is outside so I am feeding the sub with ENT (Smurf tube) inside the house, to sch 40 PVC conduit outside of the house into the sub panel With THHN from the main to the sub. Thanks for the input
Al the Diy guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 10:23 AM   #21
Sparrky
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northern California
Posts: 79
Default

Pool Sub Panel wire / conduit questions


haye to inject this at thios point...but this is where the sad part comes in . .
..did you determine BEFOREHAND THAT YOU could ADD THAT LOAD TO YOUR EXISTING SYSTEM?

I respectfully submit this because I have seen anumber of home calamities . .not so much becasue it was DIY but becvause that DIY wasnt armed with ALL he should know

case in point . . . .just got call from a good account . . .go to residence determne why main breakers keep popping . . . . .well previously I had talked to my account ABOUT NOT ..going ahead with this very project without
determining very accuratly the current load percentage..and what additional loads...if any could be added

didnt listen . . .sure enough this is the very address I was sent to . .Pool
Spa . . .barbeque all complete and wired by?..God knows whom
worse..all of the Pol and Spa equipment are in proximity to the main panel..thats great but the distance the pumps must hump the water is over 80 feet

yup...when folks are home and thr house and lit . .the pool and or Spa pumps come on . .it trips a leg...in an maxed main panel . .and thius the main

until they ponder the expense of the cure . .a larger panel with a much higher service amperage . . . .they are in serious load juggle mode . .having to really understand what they can run with what

a serious serious pain in the ass

hope you did an load study first
Kingsmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 10:59 AM   #22
Oldbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 51
Default

Pool Sub Panel wire / conduit questions


KingSmurf- I did consider the total load, "considered" but did not break out a worksheet, I should be okay, not a big house, gas heat and water. AC dryer and stove electric. But I have a worksheet and will run some totals this afternoon and post the results. The pump is 220v two speed the plate says max 11.5 amps. Pump is 20 feet from edge of pool, longest skimmer pull is about 50 ft with a head of about 5ft. main drain has about a 30 ft run with a head of about 13ft. Shouldn't be to much of hump.

Thanks for the thought though, it would totally suck if I surpassed my 200a service with this extra load.
Al the Diy guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 02:09 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 561
Default

Pool Sub Panel wire / conduit questions


200a service should be fine. Did you install an equipotential bonding grid? How did you wire the underwater lights? Did you plan for a receptacle (not on a pump circuit) no closer than 10', but no further than 20' from the waters edge? Have you bonded any and all metal within 5' of the pool, including any pool railings or diving board pockets, chain link fences, etc?
LawnGuyLandSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 02:32 PM   #24
Oldbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 51
Default

Pool Sub Panel wire / conduit questions


Quote:
Originally Posted by LawnGuyLandSparky View Post
200a service should be fine. Did you install an equipotential bonding grid? How did you wire the underwater lights? Did you plan for a receptacle (not on a pump circuit) no closer than 10', but no further than 20' from the waters edge? Have you bonded any and all metal within 5' of the pool, including any pool railings or diving board pockets, chain link fences, etc?

Sparky- I wish....not there yet, After inspection I can bury my conduit for my 12v pool light (powered out of the sub on a 20a GFIB to a 300w UL pool light transformer) , I will backfill (stone dust) and then lay my rebar 4 ft wide (1ft grid) around the pool for my equipontential grid, then bond everything to it.

Laying my line for the receptiacle (on its own GFIB, directly from the main panel) tommorw in Rigid metal condut at 6" below grade 5' 7" from inside of pool wall for a 80 ft run to the opposite corner of my pool (THHN/THWN 12 awg w/ground right?) so I can ensure nobody ever needs an extention cord in the area of the pool.

The recpetacle itself is going to be 14 ft from the pools edge. I would run the conduit farther away but I have a stone wall and stone patio at 6ft from the pool right up to the house. But at 5'7" I am far enough from the pool from what I read in 680.

My pool is 20x40x10ft deep inground with a viynl liner over cement and polymer sides so my grid does not need to extend under the pool just out from the deck (no structural steel in the bottom just a light sand/cement mix with a 30mil liner over it. Thanks for the comeback..


Last edited by Al the Diy guy; 02-03-2008 at 02:34 PM.
Al the Diy guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 05:44 PM
conduit around the swimming pool januwan Electrical 6 05-20-2007 08:14 PM
running wire questions jude Electrical 4 12-01-2006 12:41 AM
Main/Sub/Garage Gen Backup Questions crecore Electrical 9 04-17-2006 06:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.