Pool Room Subpanel - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-05-2009, 06:46 PM   #1
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10

Pool room subpanel


In construction process right now of an indoor pool.

The pool equipment room will have it's own subpanel for the pump, lights, pool cover motor and purifier. Intermittent max of about 45 amps, consistently about 20.

The pool pump will be hard wired 220, everything else is 110.

Question is can I simply use a large GFCI on the main panel to feed the subpanel or do I have to use individual GFCI breakers for each piece of equipment?

No local codes or inspections here but I wnat this to be safe.



rayt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 07:04 PM   #2
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000

Pool room subpanel

Better off with individual GFCI's
Other wise if something trips the GFCI everything shuts off & very hard to determine what caused it to trip

Outlets & lights can be protected by GFCI outets
Pool pump will need a GFCI
There may not be Inspections where you are, but everywhere in the US is covered by the Electric & building codes

There are very specific rules/codes for installation of a pool inside in regards to electric
Covers the placement of outlets, lights & "grounding" system for the pool

Section 680 covers installation:



Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 12:55 PM   #3
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,585
Rewards Points: 2,158

Pool room subpanel

Have you ever wired a pool before? This is not generally a DIY project. If you are an electrician or apprentice let us know. This is a job for professionals in most every circumstance. There are exceptions.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2009, 01:17 PM   #4
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 141
Rewards Points: 91

Pool room subpanel

I can say with experience that it is not a job for a beginner. My pool has no lighting, no powered cover, and no receptacles anywhere near the pool, all items which make things much more difficult. I only had to concern myself with the GFCI protected 240VAC feed to the pump and the bonding off all metallic pool equipment.

You say you don't have inspectors, but as soon as you buy the 8GA bare copper wire for bonding everyone will know you are installing a pool. You may find yourself visited by everyone in the area who thinks they are the electrical AHJ.

I would not hardwire the pool pump. Pumps and motors fail. Using a water/corrosion resistant twist-lok receptacle & plug with a short power cord to the pump motor will make all future maintenance MUCH easier - assuming the latest code still allows this.
MI-Roger is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A few slightly different questions on subpanel wiring. Chris Dopp Electrical 8 06-26-2009 10:45 PM
Vents from boiler room RammsteinNicCage HVAC 3 03-11-2009 08:28 PM
Cold Room mikelbeck HVAC 14 01-16-2009 09:21 PM
Raising Doorway Height (load bearing?) treefrog Building & Construction 6 02-25-2008 10:11 PM

Top of Page | View New Posts