Pool Pump Wiring - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2008, 04:02 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Pool Pump Wiring


Hi to everyone. I was hoping for some help in a situation I am having with a new pool. I will try to be as thorough as possible.
We purchased an intek pool about a month ago and discovered that the filter could not keep up with the pool use. It is an inexpensive filter that uses cartridges. I found a great deal on a Hayward S180T sand filter yesterday and purchased it. It has an Aquaflo 1.5 horse pump with it. I originally ran an underground conduit with 12/2 UF out to the pool onto a four by four riser with a weatherguard and GFCI protected outlet. My intek filter plugged right in and I was set to go. My problem is that the new pump (AO Smith LASAR) is only for 230 and apparently is a 2 speed pump. It has terminal connections for line and both high and low speed. I was told that I can run the existing common as the second leg and just install another breaker. I do moderate simple wiring but I was not sure if that was code or not. My second question is that if I did this, could I wire the motor with a plug and change out the 110 receptacle at the riser with a 220 receptacle? (I only ran the cable long enough to reach the riser and not where the actual pump location would be). Personnally I think I would only want the motor on the slow speed. It would provide more than adequate water turnover at a low speed and would eliminate the need for a switch to go from high to low speed. I really want to avoid buying another motor if I dont need to especially since this motor is suppose to be a quality motor. My main concern is safety for both myself and others using the pool. I do most projects myself and use utmost care when doing them so I am not ignorrant to the dangers of working with water and electricity. I just want to get the facts from people that know so I can decide if it is out of my league. Thanks in advance for any help that you may offer.

Advertisement

mpdive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 04:23 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,051
Rewards Points: 504
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Pool Pump Wiring


This can be rewired for 220 but first off you can't use UF. The ground wire needs to be insulated. So, given that, your current set up isn't legal. We can give you more info as needed but this needs to be corrected first.

Advertisement

wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 04:33 PM   #3
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Pool Pump Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpdive View Post
It has an Aquaflo 1.5 horse pump with it. I originally ran an underground conduit with 12/2 UF out to the pool onto a four by four riser with a weatherguard and GFCI protected outlet.
Code Violation, cant use UF.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 04:41 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,051
Rewards Points: 504
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Pool Pump Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by wirenut1110 View Post
This can be rewired for 220 but first off you can't use UF. The ground wire needs to be insulated. So, given that, your current set up isn't legal. We can give you more info as needed but this needs to be corrected first.
Is there an echo here?
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 05:30 PM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,420
Rewards Points: 2,502
Default

Pool Pump Wiring


Why go through all that hassle for a Sub $300 pool? For around $150, you could of gotten a 2500gpm filter pump if you really wanted to exchange the water more. http://www.brandsonsale.com/large-intex-pool-pumps.html

As for the original problem, you cannot run 220 on 12/2, and it would only stand up to 20 amps anyways. Do yourself a favor, and have an electrician come out, and wire the pump properly.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 05:39 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Pool Pump Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
Code Violation, cant use UF.
Guys, a storable pool does not follow the same rules as a permanent pool.

III. Storable Pools

680.30 General


Electrical installations at storable pools shall comply with the provisions of Part I and Part III of this article.


An insulated ground for the pump circuit is not mentioned in these two sections.

Be careful though. Local amendments are MANY for these new age pools.
In NY they consider these pools same as any other above ground pool and DO required the 48" barrier (fence) around the pool or yard.
Insurance companies hate them as well from what I hear.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 06:02 PM   #7
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Pool Pump Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Guys, a storable pool does not follow the same rules as a permanent pool.

III. Storable Pools

680.30 General


Electrical installations at storable pools shall comply with the provisions of Part I and Part III of this article.


An insulated ground for the pump circuit is not mentioned in these two sections.

Be careful though. Local amendments are MANY for these new age pools.
In NY they consider these pools same as any other above ground pool and DO required the 48" barrier (fence) around the pool or yard.
Insurance companies hate them as well from what I hear.

Some of those pools are deeper than 42", so that is considered a permanent pool.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 06:05 PM   #8
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,420
Rewards Points: 2,502
Default

Pool Pump Wiring


The most that a Storable pool goes in depth is 48", and unless it is Steel Wall construction, it is considered a "Storable" pool, not permanent.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 06:05 PM   #9
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Pool Pump Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post

As for the original problem, you cannot run 220 on 12/2, and it would only stand up to 20 amps anyways.

Okay, since when cant you have 220 on a 12/2? And I've never seen a residential pool pump require a circuit bigger than 20 amps.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 06:07 PM   #10
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,420
Rewards Points: 2,502
Default

Pool Pump Wiring


Because of the length from the Subpanel, or Main Panel, you will no less then 10/2 or 10/3 to a Pool Circuit. As for 220, I personally would not put that much on anything less then 10/2 in my area, due to the particulars.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 06:09 PM   #11
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Pool Pump Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
The most that a Storable pool goes in depth is 48", and unless it is Steel Wall construction, it is considered a "Storable" pool, not permanent.
I only have my 2002 nec in front of me, but 680.2 Definitions, Pools capable of holding water in a depth greater than 42 in. is a Permanently Installed Pool. ? Yes/No?
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 06:09 PM   #12
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Pool Pump Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Because of the length from the Subpanel, or Main Panel, you will no less then 10/2 or 10/3 to a Pool Circuit. As for 220, I personally would not put that much on anything less then 10/2 in my area, due to the particulars.
What are you talking about?
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 06:12 PM   #13
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,420
Rewards Points: 2,502
Default

Pool Pump Wiring


The Intex pools are considered Storable, and are not considered Permenant. As for the 2nd, our area will not allow 12/2 to carry 220vac, and follows the 2008 NEC.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 06:19 PM   #14
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Pool Pump Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
The Intex pools are considered Storable, and are not considered Permenant. As for the 2nd, our area will not allow 12/2 to carry 220vac, and follows the 2008 NEC.
What area are you talking about, and I hope you have a state amendment for this ridiculous rule.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 07:33 PM   #15
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,051
Rewards Points: 504
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Pool Pump Wiring


Sorry, didn't know this pool was a storable.

Advertisement

wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Outdoor wiring to pool pump svanvolk Electrical 4 06-10-2008 07:15 AM
Wiring 240v pump to generator - URGENT Benchr Electrical 4 12-19-2006 06:50 PM
Pool wiring jersey5.0 Electrical 4 10-07-2006 02:46 PM
Pool Wiring phinfan1266 Electrical 4 06-27-2006 03:31 PM
GFI Breaker & pool pump mitchman333 Electrical 7 05-08-2006 06:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts