Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-07-2008, 05:59 PM   #1
Oldbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 51
Share |
Default

Pool light Junction Box


Anyone want to take a stab at 680.24 Does this say I MUST have a junction box for my pool light (luminare) I have a 12v LED on 50ft of cable that I was going to terminate in the transformer. But I am thinking this is a violation as I read Mike Holts "Authors Comment" "

(B) Transformer or Ground-Fault Circuit-Interrupter Enclosure. Where the enclosure for a transformer or GFCI is connected to a conduit that extends directly to the underwater pool, spa, or hot tub luminaire forming shell, the J box shall comply with the following:
(1) Construction. The enclosure shall be listed for the purpose, and be:
(1) Equipped with threaded entries or a nonmetallic hub,
(2) Constructed of copper, brass, or approved corrosion-resistant material, and
(3) Provided with electrical continuity between all metal conduit and the grounding terminals.

Authorís Comment: There are no listed enclosures for transformers or GFCI protection devices that meet the above requirement. This requirement should stop the practice of terminating the conduit that extends directly from the underwater light to a panelboard or low-voltage transformer. "

So I guess I MUST HAVE the deck box huh??? Crap now I have to figure out where to put it....perhaps under the diving board??
Al the Diy guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 06:22 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Pool light Junction Box


Out here they put them above ground in a planter area.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 07:15 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,682
Default

Pool light Junction Box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Al the Diy guy View Post
So I guess I MUST HAVE the deck box huh??? Crap now I have to figure out where to put it....perhaps under the diving board??
Yes you must. Under the board was a very common place, when boards were common.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 08:23 PM   #4
Oldbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 51
Default

Pool light Junction Box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Yes you must. Under the board was a very common place, when boards were common.

Thanks Petey, Under the board it goes, dug this beast 10ft deep just for the board
Al the Diy guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 08:26 PM   #5
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

Pool light Junction Box


Be sure it is supported correctly and is the correct height above the water line.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 06:38 AM   #6
Oldbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 51
Default

Pool light Junction Box


Further reading indicates I can use a flush mount deck box as I am under 15v. I wonder if I can find one locally or need to buy online
Al the Diy guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 11:35 AM   #7
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

Pool light Junction Box


Sorry Al you are correct a flush mount deck box is allowed in your case. There really is no differences in a flush mount or an above deck box other than there are different covers. I saw an intermatic version at HD but any electrical supply or pool sales store will have them. Online is great See below



Last edited by Stubbie; 02-08-2008 at 02:27 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 09:07 PM   #8
Oldbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 51
Default

Pool light Junction Box


Stubbie YOU ARE THE MAN....I went to LOWES, and two electrical shops here in Fredericksburg Va with no luck, I will check my HD tommorow. Thanks very much
Al the Diy guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2008, 01:29 PM   #9
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

Pool light Junction Box


Al

I have one of these (below link) if your interested it is a solid brass one from a renovation we did a year or so ago. It is used but in good condition just need to figure out how to ship it if you want it. Send me a private message if your interested. I'm not wanting anything for it just want to get it out of my garage.... The one I have has two threaded entries in the bottom so you can flush mount it..

http://www.hydrel.com/Products/Famil...&Family=JB1719

Last edited by Stubbie; 02-09-2008 at 01:34 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 08:28 PM   #10
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

Pool light Junction Box


Al

Box is tapped both holes 3/4 check your private messages
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying to replace wall mounted light fixture jtm2300 Electrical 4 08-03-2007 09:44 PM
Pool Table Light in Drop Ceiling JJdeadhead Electrical 5 04-18-2007 08:01 AM
Swimming Pool Light Broc Electrical 1 08-15-2006 02:23 PM
Hot Light Outlets Materials Guru Electrical 5 07-31-2006 07:11 PM
Replacing light killed downstream outlets, totally stuck amissner Electrical 5 07-13-2006 06:02 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.