Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-01-2010, 07:41 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Pool Heat pump


I need to know what size wire to buy to install a heat siphon heat pump for an above ground pool. THe heat pump requires 240v, 40 amp service. The run will be approximately 120 feet from the electrical box to the pool. Should I install a subpanel and run the filter off of it also. 120 volt, 15 amp service or just run the wire seperate for the filter and pump.

Thanks
ryts4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 08:10 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

Pool Heat pump


I'd be taking a serious look at your areas code book. GFCI disconnects are probably on the menu.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 09:56 PM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Pool Heat pump


To OP., you will need to state what location you are from due the USA and Canada rules will varies a little but pretty close to each other on codewise.

The best way you can do is install the subpanel so that way you can have couple other circuit as need to.

you will have to bring in minuim of 60 amp sized conductors and with that distance you will need to use 16mm˛ { #6 AWG } conductors and run this set up in full 4 conductor set up you will need black , red , white et green not bare conductor.

With the subpanel set up you will have to get a 40 or 50 amp GFCI breaker for spa { most useally come with 50 amp requirement } or get spa subpanel that will have GFCI in there.

for the rest of the code it will be depending on your locatation so that way I can give you the correct answer.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 05:53 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,352
Default

Pool Heat pump


Quote:
Originally Posted by ryts4 View Post
... THe heat pump requires 240v, 40 amp service....
There should be 2 bits of information on the nameplate of your heat pump unit:
  1. Minimum circuit ampacity
  2. Maximum overcurrent protection or breaker size

The first item determines your wire size, the 2nd item determines the breaker size on that wire.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kbsparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comparison and Heat Pump Selection help... ChrisDIY HVAC 7 03-06-2010 08:34 PM
New Heat Pump..questions? ddave23 HVAC 4 03-05-2010 05:13 AM
Heat pump vs in floor heat mugen HVAC 5 03-02-2010 08:18 PM
Heat pump thermostat emergency switch joe913 HVAC 2 12-10-2009 12:54 PM
Brand new Carrier Infinity 16 Heat Pump Stopped Working I think needmyac HVAC 3 07-07-2009 06:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.