Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-19-2009, 11:09 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Pool GFCI


Okay here's the deal. I have a 20 amp GFCI breaker that runs my pool filter. I want to install a switch on it so that I can turn the pump on and off from the garage. My concern is that if I put a regular 20 amp switch on the line, will I trip the breaker everytime i turn off the power ? If so is there any way to accomplish this task?

thanks for the help

hockeystewey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2009, 11:27 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Far Southern Illinois
Posts: 47
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Pool GFCI


It should be fine. In terms of the load, throwing a switch would be identical to plugging in the pump.

KeithM62948 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Freezer tripping GFCI davidclements Appliances 57 08-13-2014 08:14 PM
GFCI Question Mdbuilder Electrical 6 06-19-2008 03:15 PM
Just to confirm, no GFCI needed for hard wired pool pump..right?? Al the Diy guy Electrical 6 02-10-2008 12:28 PM
GFCI questions 5circles Electrical 4 11-05-2007 08:24 PM
Pool Wiring phinfan1266 Electrical 4 06-27-2006 02:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.