Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-23-2011, 01:31 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 16
Share |
Default

Pool bonding HELP!!!!!!!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by bob22 View Post
How is the electricity delivered from the shed to your outlet that the pump plugs into? UF, NM, THWN, etc, underground and/or in conduit?
From sub panel in shed via 12/2 romex to a box which holds a GFCI outlet.

bgyako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 01:41 PM   #17
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Pool bonding HELP!!!!!!!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by bgyako View Post
From sub panel in shed via 12/2 romex to a box which holds a GFCI outlet.
Ain't legal......

680.21 Motors.
(A) Wiring Methods. The wiring to a pool motor shall
comply with (A)(1) unless modified for specific circumstances
by (A)(2), (A)(3), (A)(4), or (A)(5).

(1) General. The branch circuits for pool-associated motors
shall be installed in rigid metal conduit, intermediate
metal conduit, rigid polyvinyl chloride conduit, reinforced
thermosetting resin conduit, or Type MC cable listed for the
location. Other wiring methods and materials shall be permitted
in specific locations or applications as covered in
this section. Any wiring method employed shall contain an
insulated copper equipment grounding conductor sized in
accordance with 250.122 but not smaller than 12 AWG.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 01:44 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 1,987
Default

Pool bonding HELP!!!!!!!!!


It could be legal if the outlet serving the pump is mounted to the shed thereby not needing conduit etc... since the cable run would be inside the shed, through the wall, and right into the JB, correct? Of course, this may not be what is there...
bob22 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 01:55 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 16
Default

Pool bonding HELP!!!!!!!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by bob22 View Post
It could be legal if the outlet serving the pump is mounted to the shed thereby not needing conduit etc... since the cable run would be inside the shed, through the wall, and right into the JB, correct? Of course, this may not be what is there...
That's exactly how it is wired..

People are looking for flaws instead of assisting in correcting my problem.
bgyako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 01:57 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 1,987
Default

Pool bonding HELP!!!!!!!!!


No, people are trying to visualize what is happening when they can't see it and trying their best to make sure the installation is safe so you or your family don't get electrocuted. No one responding knows if you know what you are doing and how to do it right so they err on the side of being overly cautious. That makes sense to you doesn't it?
bob22 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bob22 For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (08-23-2011)
Old 08-23-2011, 02:04 PM   #21
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,825
Default

Pool bonding HELP!!!!!!!!!


NEC 2008 680.21(A)(4) allows NM cable for the interior portions of this wirinng for dwelling units and structures associated with dwelling units.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 02:07 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 16
Default

Pool bonding HELP!!!!!!!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by bob22 View Post
No, people are trying to visualize what is happening when they can't see it and trying their best to make sure the installation is safe so you or your family don't get electrocuted. No one responding knows if you know what you are doing and how to do it right so they err on the side of being overly cautious. That makes sense to you doesn't it?
I guess but throwing codes at me is not helping ..

I thought I had it wired correctly, what's messing me up is the bonding.
and that's causing breaker to trip.

Break down.
This set up works with no issues.
Main panel has 30 amp GFCI 2pole breaker.
10 AWG cable goes to sub panel in SHED>
From sub panel, I have 12/2 romex going to Junction box inside shed.
Junction box has GFCI outlet that the motor plugs into.

Issue:
I bonded all the parts of the pool to a ground rod.
then bonded motor case to same ground rod.
Breaker started to trip. I temporarily removed bond from motor until I figure this out.

It sounds as if I did not need the ground rod>>>>
bgyako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 02:34 PM   #23
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,825
Default

Pool bonding HELP!!!!!!!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by bgyako View Post
I guess but throwing codes at me is not helping ..

I thought I had it wired correctly, what's messing me up is the bonding.
and that's causing breaker to trip.

Break down.
This set up works with no issues.
Main panel has 30 amp GFCI 2pole breaker.
10 AWG cable goes to sub panel in SHED>
From sub panel, I have 12/2 romex going to Junction box inside shed.
Junction box has GFCI outlet that the motor plugs into.

Issue:
I bonded all the parts of the pool to a ground rod.
then bonded motor case to same ground rod.
Breaker started to trip. I temporarily removed bond from motor until I figure this out.

It sounds as if I did not need the ground rod>>>>
Try removing the connection to the ground rod and see what happens.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 02:36 PM   #24
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,825
Default

Pool bonding HELP!!!!!!!!!


How many conductors are going to the sub panel in the shed?
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 02:38 PM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 16
Default

Pool bonding HELP!!!!!!!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
How many conductors are going to the sub panel in the shed?
4 - black, red, white, and ground.
bgyako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 02:39 PM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 16
Default

Pool bonding HELP!!!!!!!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
Try removing the connection to the ground rod and see what happens.
If I remove the bonding copper wire from motor case it is working properly.
I want to make sure the pool is properly bonded and was advise need ground rod.
bgyako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 02:40 PM   #27
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,825
Default

Pool bonding HELP!!!!!!!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by bgyako View Post
4 - black, red, white, and ground.
Are the grounds and neutral isolated ?
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 02:45 PM   #28
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,825
Default

Pool bonding HELP!!!!!!!!!


Is the motor dual voltage and is set up for 120 volts?
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 02:48 PM   #29
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 16
Default

Pool bonding HELP!!!!!!!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
Are the grounds and neutral isolated ?
Not in the sub panel, no.....
bgyako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 02:49 PM   #30
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 16
Default

Pool bonding HELP!!!!!!!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
Is the motor dual voltage and is set up for 120 volts?
I do not think so. I think it is 120 only.
It does have 2 speeds, low/high. Controlled by toggle switch built into motor.

bgyako is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bonding Pool Equipment - Conflicting Advice rickster18 Electrical 6 08-18-2011 05:21 PM
pool bonding philmymtpkts Electrical 11 08-03-2011 10:43 PM
bonding and grounding of pool pump/motor gpike19 Electrical 2 07-22-2011 12:18 PM
Tips on how I can get this electrical job done for a hot tub in backyard. the punisher Electrical 34 08-24-2010 06:08 PM
Another Pool Bonding Question RustyRealtor Electrical 4 08-05-2009 01:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.