Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-11-2012, 03:06 PM   #46
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,731
Rewards Points: 1,068
Default

Pool 100Amp Subpanel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey
Well, I am not saying you are wrong, but I am saying I disagree.

I am not one of these guys who over builds every job just to say how much better I am than the other guy, or to just cover my ass because I don't know the code.
That said, I do feel there are areas though were I feel code minimum is not good enough.
Then we agree to disagree. You are one of the few people on this forum I respect. We seem to be on the same page most of the time and I have learned from you.

Unfortunately there a few trollz here who should limit there posts to hanging curtains or interior decorating. But let's leave him out of this.

__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to electures For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (08-11-2012)
Old 08-11-2012, 04:36 PM   #47
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,142
Rewards Points: 2,076
Default

Pool 100Amp Subpanel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
That said, I do feel there are areas though were I feel code minimum is not good enough.
You can always submit a code change and your reasoning, but the reality is, they have far more data then what we see day in and day out. I dont lose to much sleep.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 11:40 PM   #48
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,129
Rewards Points: 2,228
Default

Pool 100Amp Subpanel


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
No, not to most but there are a few. Unfortunately, there are a lot of electricians who learn by failing instead of taking a class or participate in a forum such as ElectricianTalk.

As soon as something out of the norm comes along, it's easier to say it is wrong then to prove it is wrong.

If anybody thinks I am wrong, prove me wrong. I don't want to hear about intent or cost. Time and time again I hear contractors pissing and moaning about how the EI wants this or that and they think it is wrong. I am actually pointing out away for a contractor to save a few bucks without violating the NEC.

A lot of EI's here in NJ didn't grasp this either when I introduced it, but the code specialists in the DCA agree with me along with my local IAEI chapter.
I don't know if I'm the troll or not (my original username was stubbie).

Unfortunately I do not have the time any more to spend on this forum but there is nobody here that thinks more highly of the members and professionals who post here.

I was merely pointing out that you encouraged as did stickboy to forgoe gfci protection if using 2011 NEC by installing a unnecessary breaker on pool pump circuits that do not require anymore than a 20 amp breaker. By your own addmission your doing this to avoid cost related to installing required gfci protection for pump circuits that are 120 or 240 volt 15 or 20 amp. That LOGIC says gfci is unnecessary for any circuit ...no???

There is no agrument about your method being code compliant. It is a legal install. But you need to get on one side of the fence or the other about gfci being better for human safety on a pool pump circuit or just hockey puck ... because your pretty much admitting it is not. So is it or isn't it ??

Last edited by Stubbie; 08-14-2012 at 10:28 AM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 01:33 AM   #49
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,129
Rewards Points: 2,228
Default

Pool 100Amp Subpanel


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Why is this so hard for electricians to comprehend? They choose opinion over code... As if the way they wire is supposedly better? For who though, the customers wallet or their own ego?
It surely is .. and I think it is hardly opinion.


Last edited by Stubbie; 08-14-2012 at 10:27 AM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pool subpanel Roskoe General DIY Discussions 0 12-17-2011 09:25 AM
Pool subpanel questions Simbilis Electrical 3 04-23-2011 07:44 PM
Swimming Pool subpanel tedpoppke Electrical 3 08-24-2010 09:59 AM
Adding 100amp Subpanel for basement trajendra_babu Electrical 22 06-12-2010 10:54 PM
Pool room subpanel rayt Electrical 3 10-06-2009 01:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.