Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-05-2008, 08:49 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

polarity mess


Quote:
Originally Posted by theatretch85 View Post
Per the NEC these two appliances should be on their own circuits, with the dishwasher running there is the potential to overload the circuit when you flip on the garbage disposal. Also, any above the counter outlets can not be shared off another circuit, meaning the above counter outlets must be on their own 2 circuits. What you are proposing to do would be at least two code violations; what are you doing that you have to rewire these circuits?
OK Dude,
The home was built in 1957 and is a two wire home. (meaning-there is only two wires coming from the main pole to the home. (NO ROUND).
the wires were like that when I moved in, and I just want to put a gfci in place of a reg-recept.
Thanks for your help..
Jinna..

jinna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 08:51 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

polarity mess


Quote:
Originally Posted by jinna View Post
OK Dude,
The home was built in 1957 and is a two wire home. (meaning-there is only two wires coming from the main pole to the home. (NO ROUND).
the wires were like that when I moved in, and I just want to put a gfci in place of a reg-recept.
Thanks for your help..
Jinna..
p.s.the wires are not knob&tube--they are regular wires wrap in cloth matl.
jinna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 08:52 AM   #18
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

polarity mess


Quote:
Originally Posted by jinna View Post
p.s.the wires are not knob&tube--they are regular wires wrap in cloth matl.
The old type romex. Good stuff, but it tends to crumble sometimes when you try working with it. If you have more questions, just post them. We'll help.
__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 05:22 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,000
Rewards Points: 502
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

polarity mess


Quote:
Originally Posted by jinna View Post
OK Dude,
The home was built in 1957 and is a two wire home. (meaning-there is only two wires coming from the main pole to the home. (NO ROUND).
the wires were like that when I moved in, and I just want to put a gfci in place of a reg-recept.
Thanks for your help..
Jinna..
I was simply stating what the NEC code says, and usually if your doing any kinda of remodeling work or disturbing old wiring you are required to bring it up to current code. If your not disturbing it then you should be fine and should not be required to bring it up to the current code. Also, you never included that info in your original post or any subsequent posts after that until I talked about what the NEC code says regarding these circuits.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 05:26 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,000
Rewards Points: 502
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

polarity mess


Quote:
Originally Posted by jinna View Post
OK Dude,
The home was built in 1957 and is a two wire home. (meaning-there is only two wires coming from the main pole to the home. (NO ROUND).
the wires were like that when I moved in, and I just want to put a gfci in place of a reg-recept.
Thanks for your help..
Jinna..
And actually, you have a ground/neutral coming from the pole. If you only have 2 wires up there coming from the pole to your house then you only have 120 volt service, but one of those conductors is a grounded neutral. Your home would not be able to properly operate 120 volt devices without a grounded neutral back to the pole, though 240 volt devices (like electric stoves and dryers) would work just fine (so long as they are not 120/240 volt appliances requiring the neutral). You probably have the 2 prong outlets throughout the house, but you most definitely have a ground from the pole.

theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with a mess James Con Electrical 14 06-18-2008 11:17 PM
Countertop (Formica) mess and husband's ego - HELP! frustratedwife Carpentry 3 11-12-2007 10:10 PM
Decorating my living room - a mess! mikailani Interior Decorating 4 10-21-2007 04:57 PM
reversed polarity. sober4today Electrical 3 07-05-2007 09:02 PM
KITCHEN CUPBOARDS!! in a mess! ashleyc General DIY Discussions 1 07-02-2006 11:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.