Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-04-2008, 09:08 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 309
Share |
Default

Polaris connectors underground


This question relates to another thread:
What's the best way to splice 1/0 cable?

I have 1/0 cable in 2" conduit running in ground at a depth of 2 feet.
The job required a splice, which was accomplished by using Polaris connectors inside a sealed PVC Junction box.

My problem:

I'm trying to seal the J-Box and cover my trench, but if I move the junction box to position it in the trench, the little rubber caps(denoted by red arrow) on the Polaris connectors keep falling off.

Does anyone who has experience with these connectors come up with a solution for keeping them on? Or is there another way I could keep moisture out of the connector?

I thought about a silicone caulk or possibly butyl rubber, but wasn't sure if this might have a corrosive effect on the aluminum set screws. Electrical tape would work short term, but what about after several years in the ground. Any ideas? I can't close my trench until I get this resolved.
Attached Images
 


Last edited by Randell Tarin; 02-04-2008 at 09:12 AM.
Randell Tarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 11:28 AM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

Polaris connectors underground


Are you saying you are going to bury the box????

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 03:23 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 309
Default

Polaris connectors underground


Yes, this is what I was advised I could do. The Polaris connectors are rated for direct burial, the J-box was just another added layer of protection.
Randell Tarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 03:33 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 200
Default

Polaris connectors underground


You are not reading ( & comprehending) the responses from the knowledgeable people here ...
I'm just look out for your well being. This electrician thing is definitely not your thing.
You are going to get hurt, or hurt someone else.
Time for you to consider scrap-booking as a hobby instead of electrician.
JGarth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 03:39 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 309
Default

Polaris connectors underground


Got it. You don't want me messing with electricity. Too late. In for a penny, in for a pound.

So, rather than criticize me, why don't you tell me the correct way to do it in a way even someone as stupid as I can comprehend.
Randell Tarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 03:43 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

Polaris connectors underground


Quote:
Originally Posted by Randell Tarin View Post
Yes, this is what I was advised I could do.
By WHOM? Those connectors are NOT direct burial.
These are:
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 03:45 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

Polaris connectors underground


Another thing that bothers me is are you going to make the conduit useless now.
The LEAST thing I would do is put a sign at each end stating that the conduit is now broken underground.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 05:33 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 309
Default

Polaris connectors underground


I have the blue ones. I was told by a licensed electrician to use these and put them in a junction box. The cable is for direct burial. The conduit runs 20 feet into the junction box the picks up again on the other side with the splice and then exits the ground where the future panel will be located.

It's not a biggy to put the junction box above ground if this is what I need to do. I just get confused by the number of opinions weighing in on the subject.
I just want to be safe and do it correctly.

That being said, do need to put the junction box above ground? AND how do I keep the little rubber stops on?
Randell Tarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 06:13 PM   #9
Cow
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 116
Default

Polaris connectors underground


If you want the splice in the ground, why not use a garden box rather than burying a j-box? I hate hidden splice boxes...

Even having a note stating there is a buried j-box doesn't help much without a map showing where it's located in the run.
Cow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 06:23 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 309
Default

Polaris connectors underground


Fine, but after doing a search for a "garden box" on google, I came up empty. Is this something that's in-ground, but still accessible?

Like I said, I don't have a problem with putting the box above ground.
Randell Tarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 06:34 PM   #11
Cow
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 116
Default

Polaris connectors underground


Sometimes I forget not everyone is familiar with slang electrical terms.

Lookup up a handhole box, it's about the same as a sprinkler irrigation box. This will keep your splices out of the dirt and keep it accessible.
Cow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 07:19 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 70
Default

Polaris connectors underground


http://www.erico.com/products/InspectionWells.asp
here is an example of what you need (scroll down). the idea is to put any inground splices somewhere that they can be inspected at a later date, or fixed if necessary (so don't pick a handhole too small to fix the splices)

this is just one brand, your electric supply may carry others
nacko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 07:38 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 309
Default

Polaris connectors underground


Thanks Guys. I'll just need to raise my trench a little bit, but this shouldn't be a problem. I'll probably just wait until the structure is up so I can locate everything and possibly move my trench. I like the hand hole box. Much better than what was previously suggested to me.
Randell Tarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 08:26 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 70
Default

Polaris connectors underground


make sure you use the correct burial depth - table 300.5 (2005 NEC)
- we uaually put gravel in the bottom of the handhole to make it nice for guys who come after us
nacko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 08:34 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 309
Default

Polaris connectors underground


O.K., this brings me back to my original question. What about the rubber stops on the Polaris connectors. They're hardly moisture proof without them.

Randell Tarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
underground code tom b Electrical 8 03-23-2008 10:55 AM
Twin Impeller Shower Pump Connectors snowman23 Plumbing 1 11-11-2007 04:33 AM
code for underground service tom b Electrical 6 10-10-2007 11:48 AM
Underground Wiring millipede Electrical 4 11-24-2006 10:00 PM
'Underground Wiring And Code. michaeltz Electrical 16 12-05-2005 07:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.