Po Boy Finally Buys A Washer/Dryer - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2010, 03:33 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: California and Co. Clare, Ireland
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Unhappy

Po Boy Finally Buys A Washer/Dryer


Ya know when your g/f or wife says, 'Don't you DARE talk down to me?'... well, I AIN'T your g/f or wife but what i IS is so DYI challenged that anything but the most basic explanation will cause my brain to short circuit.

To prove how DYI-tarded I am, I bought a used staking washer/dryer because it was what I could afford.. but now I can't plug it in. The plug is a large crows-foot deal but my outlets are standard USA deals.

I know it can't be as simple as changing the cord to a standard 3-prong.


KENMORE STACKING WASHER/DRYER MODEL NO: 417.90802992
WASHER 120/240V
DRYER 240V
APPROX 4 YEARS OLD
EXCELLENT CONDITION

... the part number on the plug is E11808

Any suggestions (unless i starts with 'shove it up your') are appreciated.

Thank you - Mick

Advertisement

Mickk3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 04:02 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Po Boy Finally Buys A Washer/Dryer


Do you have a standard 240v outlet to plug this into ?

And does the outlet take a 3 prong or 4 prong plug ?

and where are you hooking this up..CA or Ireland ?

Advertisement

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 04:11 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: California and Co. Clare, Ireland
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Po Boy Finally Buys A Washer/Dryer


thank you, Scuba-Dave, for taking the time to respond.

And now, to show the depth of my ignorance -


If a standard 240v outlet is a 3-prong plain ol American one (like for a fridge), then yes I do

This is going into my apt. in California.
Mickk3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 04:36 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Po Boy Finally Buys A Washer/Dryer


A fridge is not 240v

This is a standard 120v outlet
If this is all you have then you can't plug it in




Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 04:38 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Po Boy Finally Buys A Washer/Dryer


240v 4 prong outlet




240v 3 prong outlet


Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 04:45 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: California and Co. Clare, Ireland
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Po Boy Finally Buys A Washer/Dryer


ah.. that's all I have (standard 120v outlet) and the washer/dryer needs 240v 3 prong outlet

is there a converter/transformer i can buy?

if I was in Ireland I'd just take it as is and pound it in with a hammer
Mickk3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 04:53 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: California and Co. Clare, Ireland
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Po Boy Finally Buys A Washer/Dryer


I found an article that explains how to do to opposite (use 110v in 220-240v outlets) but nothing that addresses my problem.

Would an electrician be able to install such an outlet?
Mickk3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 04:57 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Po Boy Finally Buys A Washer/Dryer


Since this is an Apt you would need to check with the landlord on having a 240v outlet run
Hopefully there is enough power to run a circuit
But I have seen some Apts that only have 60a power & can't handle a dryer connection
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 08:09 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: central virginia mountains
Posts: 1,857
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Po Boy Finally Buys A Washer/Dryer


the wire there now will not carry the power you need. you will need a new wire from panel to that location
__________________
The older I get the better I was
tpolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 11:45 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Po Boy Finally Buys A Washer/Dryer


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mickk3 View Post
I found an article that explains how to do to opposite (use 110v in 220-240v outlets) but nothing that addresses my problem.

Would an electrician be able to install such an outlet?
Yes, and you should call one before you hurt yourself or someone else.

Advertisement

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dryers , electric wiring , outlets , plug , washing machine


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Water Turning Cold - Could it be the washer/dryer? kissiffer4 Plumbing 3 01-28-2010 05:47 PM
Finally a DIY with HVAC! Guido Introductions 4 01-22-2008 08:31 PM
Washer/Dryer Hookup? Ms Nikki Plumbing 5 11-07-2007 08:58 PM
How to handle circuit for washer/dryer relocation? KUIPORNG Electrical 9 06-16-2006 10:09 AM
relocate washer/dryer krtw Remodeling 2 01-15-2006 03:39 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts