Plugs On Bell Boxes - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-05-2013, 03:33 PM   #1
Member
 
ericmunyon12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 55
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Plugs on bell boxes


Quick opinion question: it says to silicon the plugs on a bell box for wet location. If it's not going to get real wet, like under a garage peak overhang, I just use several wraps of Teflon tape. I put this on the lamp holders too (not a good ground anyway due to coating, so I DO use the grounding screws on the box, cover, and lamp holders). Anyone say Teflon tape is a terrible idea? Other tips?
Attached Images
 

Advertisement

ericmunyon12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 04:13 PM   #2
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,820
Rewards Points: 2,314
Default

Plugs on bell boxes


Ive never done either

Advertisement

TarheelTerp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 05:59 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,052
Rewards Points: 2,902
Default

Plugs on bell boxes


I caulk the ones on the top of the box, if any.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 06:20 PM   #4
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,110
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Plugs on bell boxes


If you can't use the caulk do to its location, put the plug in and then put a good size dolup on your finger and cover the plug.
sublime2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 09:40 PM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Plugs on bell boxes


I useally chalk the top half but almost never on bottom half ( unless subject ot spraying water then I will seal up the whole thing )

And of course drill out a small 1 or 2 mm hole on bottom of it that will assit any water to drain out.( unless it is under " damp location " I may let it slide depending on the set up )

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
ericmunyon12345 (07-05-2013)
Old 07-06-2013, 12:01 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Plugs on bell boxes


I drill a hole in the bottom. A small hole.
Actually I don't, but I would do that before trying to seal it up.

Advertisement

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 breakers with black and red hots for only 2 plugs in kitchen. Y so many? Runestone Electrical 19 10-19-2012 06:35 AM
grounding metal junction boxes simanco Electrical 3 07-27-2012 06:22 PM
cutting plugs off would violate... Daneel Electrical 9 06-05-2011 05:21 AM
Can I cover unwanted electrical boxes (ie switch box) with drywall?? DanDaMan Electrical 15 03-07-2011 03:59 AM
KO plugs are dangerous! KE2KB Electrical 10 11-25-2008 07:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts