Plugs On Bell Boxes - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-05-2013, 02:33 PM   #1
ericmunyon12345's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 55
Rewards Points: 75

Plugs on bell boxes

Quick opinion question: it says to silicon the plugs on a bell box for wet location. If it's not going to get real wet, like under a garage peak overhang, I just use several wraps of Teflon tape. I put this on the lamp holders too (not a good ground anyway due to coating, so I DO use the grounding screws on the box, cover, and lamp holders). Anyone say Teflon tape is a terrible idea? Other tips?
Attached Images


ericmunyon12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 03:13 PM   #2
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,888
Rewards Points: 2,450

Ive never done either


TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 04:59 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 10,234
Rewards Points: 622

I caulk the ones on the top of the box, if any.
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 05:20 PM   #4
DIY Enthusiast
sublime2's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,113
Rewards Points: 500

If you can't use the caulk do to its location, put the plug in and then put a good size dolup on your finger and cover the plug.
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 08:40 PM   #5
" Euro " electrician
frenchelectrican's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000

I useally chalk the top half but almost never on bottom half ( unless subject ot spraying water then I will seal up the whole thing )

And of course drill out a small 1 or 2 mm hole on bottom of it that will assit any water to drain out.( unless it is under " damp location " I may let it slide depending on the set up )

The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
ericmunyon12345 (07-05-2013)
Old 07-06-2013, 11:01 AM   #6
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,672
Rewards Points: 4

I drill a hole in the bottom. A small hole.
Actually I don't, but I would do that before trying to seal it up.


J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 breakers with black and red hots for only 2 plugs in kitchen. Y so many? Runestone Electrical 19 10-19-2012 05:35 AM
grounding metal junction boxes simanco Electrical 3 07-27-2012 05:22 PM
cutting plugs off would violate... Daneel Electrical 9 06-05-2011 04:21 AM
Can I cover unwanted electrical boxes (ie switch box) with drywall?? DanDaMan Electrical 15 03-07-2011 02:59 AM
KO plugs are dangerous! KE2KB Electrical 10 11-25-2008 06:57 PM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1