Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-23-2008, 08:44 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

plug in question


hello,im putting 1/4 inch sheetrock over existing 3/8 sheetrock.does anybody know what i can do to shim out exsting plugins and light switches so that the plates are flush.is this something that i can do after i install the sheetrock or should i do it first.any help is appteciated.thanks again from east washington state.

GLASSMAN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2008, 09:02 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

plug in question


Quote:
Originally Posted by GLASSMAN1 View Post
hello,im putting 1/4 inch sheetrock over existing 3/8 sheetrock.does anybody know what i can do to shim out exsting plugins and light switches so that the plates are flush.is this something that i can do after i install the sheetrock or should i do it first.any help is appteciated.thanks again from east washington state.
Ideally, you should try to cut the holes for the receptacles and switches a little small so the ears of the devices are resting on the drywall. This usually involves unsrewing the devices so they can be tilted through the new holes. If that doesn't work out too well, there are spacers that are made for this type of problem:

http://contractorservices.homedepot....1-b6326ddc17dc


Last edited by jerryh3; 02-23-2008 at 09:06 AM.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2008, 09:29 AM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,878
Rewards Points: 2,110
Default

plug in question


I use Arlington BE-1's for this purpose.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2008, 09:50 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

plug in question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
I use Arlington BE-1's for this purpose.
I had not seen these. Looks much better. Do they need oversized plates?
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2008, 09:53 AM   #5
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Rewards Points: 500
Default

plug in question


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryh3 View Post
Ideally, you should try to cut the holes for the receptacles and switches a little small so the ears of the devices are resting on the drywall. This usually involves unsrewing the devices so they can be tilted through the new holes. If that doesn't work out too well, there are spacers that are made for this type of problem:

http://contractorservices.homedepot....1-b6326ddc17dc

Even if the sheetrock is cut tight enough for the ears of the recep to rest on, an extension ring must be used because the box won't be flush with the sheetrock... NEC 370.20
__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2008, 09:58 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

plug in question


Quote:
Originally Posted by CowboyAndy View Post
Even if the sheetrock is cut tight enough for the ears of the recep to rest on, an extension ring must be used because the box won't be flush with the sheetrock... NEC 370.20
Learn something new every day. Are you sure it's 370.20? I couldn't find that in the book. 314.20, maybe?

Last edited by jerryh3; 02-23-2008 at 10:05 AM.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2008, 10:03 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 10
Default

plug in question


Speedy Petey Can You Explain A Little How To Install?
GLASSMAN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2008, 10:20 AM   #8
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Rewards Points: 500
Default

plug in question


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryh3 View Post
Learn something new every day. Are you sure it's 370.20? I couldn't find that in the book. 314.20, maybe?
Ya, I realized that it might not have been the correct article, I only have access to the online edition of the code and I can't get it to open for some reason. I am looking into it now.
__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2008, 10:27 AM   #9
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Rewards Points: 500
Default

plug in question


This is the link I normally use for the online edition of the code... can someone else try it and see if it works for them? I keep getting a java error.

http://www.nfpa.org/freecodes/free_a....asp?id=7008SB
__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2008, 10:40 AM   #10
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

plug in question


Quote:
Originally Posted by GLASSMAN1 View Post
hello,im putting 1/4 inch sheetrock over existing 3/8 sheetrock.does anybody know what i can do to shim out exsting plugins and light switches so that the plates are flush.is this something that i can do after i install the sheetrock or should i do it first.any help is appteciated.thanks again from east washington state.
Just remember that 1/4" is the most a box can be setback from the finish, anything more than that will require a box extender...art. 314.20
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2008, 11:37 AM   #11
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,878
Rewards Points: 2,110
Default

plug in question


Jerry & Glass,

No, they do not need OS plates.

They slip right into the box before the device. Simple as that.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2008, 12:18 PM   #12
Sparrky
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northern California
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 75
Default

plug in question


no problem. . .roto-zip out the exiting drywall around the box...install correct depth mudring..then roto-zip the area for only the face of the mud ring . . . . .it'll be good to go

Kingsmurf

Kingsmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric Dryer wiring/plug question SpaceCrawler Electrical 6 08-26-2008 05:33 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 09:19 AM
Avanti Electric Oven - But no Plug ? hongtea Electrical 4 03-16-2008 09:07 PM
Plug Sockets - Basic Question chris_stfc Electrical 6 12-25-2007 05:03 PM
Switching from light socket to plug - stupid question CGofMP Electrical 5 03-25-2005 10:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.