Plug Outlet Location In A New School - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-10-2011, 10:01 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Plug outlet location in a new school

I am a teacher in an Ontario school and our school board is almost finished building our new school. I visited the school to set up my classroom and while placing my computer, I realized that there were very few outlets available. I have attached a copy of the room layout:

[IMG]C:\Documents and Settings\Pat\Desktop\Classroom[/IMG]

I know that in RESIDENTIAL wiring, plug outlets must be located such that no point on the perimeter of the wall is more than 6 feet from an outlet. On the East interior wall, the desk is about 12 feet from the centrally placed outlet. On the North exterior wall, there are NO outlets. The windows on this wall are placed 4 feet off the floor.

My question is: Is this a violation of the Building Electrical Code for Schools?
Attached Thumbnails
Plug outlet location in a new school-classroom.jpg  

Advertisement

prb_nearnorth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 10:15 AM   #2
Licensed electrician

Rewards Points: 2,868

I don't know about the CEC, but under the NEC in the US, commercial receptacle locations are not specified like they are in a residential setting.

Advertisement

prb_nearnorth (09-10-2011)
Old 09-10-2011, 10:50 AM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.

Rewards Points: 2,162

Are you suggesting that your school was not wired to code?

+1 to Jim's post. There is NO code minimum on this.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (09-10-2011)
Old 09-10-2011, 11:01 AM   #4