Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-17-2011, 03:47 PM   #1
Member
 
hohadcr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 270
Rewards Points: 256
Default

plug housing for plugs on floor


I have my office on a raised platform. A couple steps above the floor. The floor of the platform is just Chipboard. I can also easily access below the platform.

Now, I want to have plugs for my office devices such as computer and printer on the platform floor so all the power cords all go under the table.

What kind of plugs should I use? Should the plugs flush w/ the floor or on the surface of the platform floor taking into consideration of security and future cleaning ect?

hohadcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 05:57 PM   #2
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,559
Rewards Points: 2,014
Default

plug housing for plugs on floor


The easiest way to handle this is to install the receptacles under the floor, and just cut holes in the floor and run the cables through the holes. This is actually a very common solution for wiring in data centers, where the space under the floor is used for cooling as well as cabling. It makes the installation very flexible, because you can easily cut more holes and move things around without rewiring the receptacles.

mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 10:09 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 90
Rewards Points: 75
Default

plug housing for plugs on floor


If you want to install plugs on the floor, please us an approved box. They are available at any home center. Examples look like:


brgmgb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 10:54 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,980
Rewards Points: 2,140
Default

plug housing for plugs on floor


Quote:
Originally Posted by brgmgb View Post
If you want to install plugs on the floor, please us an approved box. They are available at any home center. Examples look like:


I agree, but boy are they expensive. Because of the floor plan, I was afraid I was going to need a couple of these when I wired my log home, but the inspector let me slide. Not to say he let me use an unapproved item, but let me get off without any outlet.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 12:06 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

plug housing for plugs on floor


Use plastic adjustable floor boxes for wood floors. Like this one. http://www.carlon.com/Product_Adjust...lFloorBox.html
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laminate or vinyl on a concrete basement floor? pjpjpjpj Flooring 36 09-03-2012 02:37 PM
Pet Sanctuary Needs Urine-proof, affordable floor which is not too hard. Pet Sanctuary Flooring 1 05-31-2011 05:53 PM
Floor damage from a 2nd floor bathroom toilet leak Tamber Plumbing 3 05-03-2011 12:10 AM
Creating a flat floor on an angled concrete floor? Magno Building & Construction 1 04-14-2011 06:42 AM
Garage floor drain plug oxicottin General DIY Discussions 2 07-26-2009 09:21 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.