Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-20-2010, 12:40 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 8
Share |
Default

Please help: upgrade question


My wife and I just bought a house with a 100 amp panel and we are going to upgrade to 200 amps as we want to have a hot tub put in.

Our first estimate for this project came in at 3000 dollars. We asked the electrician to break down the costs and submitted as follows:

1) Install new 200 amp panel........$1350
2) Rewire house outlets, switches, and all electrical boxes as need....$1500
3) Repair bathroom power and make functional outlets....$150

My question is when we get the new panel (1350) do we NEED to have the house rewired (1500)?

kylevillella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 12:43 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

Please help: upgrade question


Everytime I see these prices it makes me wish I had done something more with my life as a youngster.

sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 12:45 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Please help: upgrade question


Meaning what? It's too much? Too little? Please, I'm a new first time homeowner.
kylevillella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 01:13 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 19
Default

Please help: upgrade question


If you update a panel then all conections to that panel have to be updated as well if they are not on par with the NEC/CEC codes. PErmits are required and a final inspection done to make sure all is to code.

Pricing can be anywhere for $1200 up to $10000. all depends on what work is required and the size of the dwelling. There is no set price and the best bet is to get 3 different quotes and do a bit of homework on the person you will be hiring for your own protection.

Install new 200 amp panel........$1350 is a fair price but it hard to put a price on anything without inspecting the work site.


**FYE**
**FYE** is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 01:16 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

Please help: upgrade question


Quote:
Originally Posted by kylevillella View Post
Meaning what? It's too much? Too little? Please, I'm a new first time homeowner.
Meaning only that it's big bucks, and I wish I was the Contractor.

I won't presume to say whether or not it's too much. I think you should get 2 more quotes, though, and go with the lowest.

Since you're posting in the DIY forums, I am going to assume that you really want to tackle this job yourself. If you think that you can, I'd say go for it, but PLEASE be sure that you know what you're doing. I think that's what you're trying to do by posting here, so just hang on while the pros get to this thread. I'm just learning too.

As far as the question you pose "My question is when we get the new panel (1350) do we NEED to have the house rewired (1500)?" I would say that you need to go with what the Contractor and the Inspector have to say about that. In many cases, an Inspector will fail a project, EVEN when the contractor is a Master license-holding, 30 year-experienced professional, that has other problems, such as bad wiring (from existing, old work) entering the breaker panel, open junction boxes, etc. Some inspectors go far beyond their duty to make sure that the house is up-to-date. So, I think it would be impossible for anyone here to say with any certainty whether or not you need to follow the elctrician's advise on upgrading the rest of the house. It's probably something the inspector
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 01:17 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Please help: upgrade question


Quote:
Originally Posted by **FYE** View Post
If you update a panel then all conections to that panel have to be updated as well if they are not on par with the NEC/CEC codes. PErmits are required and a final inspection done to make sure all is to code.

Pricing can be anywhere for $1200 up to $10000. all depends on what work is required and the size of the dwelling. There is no set price and the best bet is to get 3 different quotes and do a bit of homework on the person you will be hiring for your own protection.

Install new 200 amp panel........$1350 is a fair price but it hard to put a price on anything without inspecting the work site.


**FYE**
Ok, thanks, I think that basically answers my question. I was basically wondering about the "wiring" for 1500, if it was necessary or if they were building a price in. THANKS
kylevillella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 01:21 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,639
Default

Please help: upgrade question


When I do an upgrade, certian things in the house have to be upgraded as well.
Most of those include gfci's where required by code, interconnected smokes as dictated by codes and what ever room that is being upgraded or refinished needing arcfault breakers.

Local codes will vary!


$1500 to rewire a house without taking the walls down is a steal in my area!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 01:22 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Please help: upgrade question


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
Meaning only that it's big bucks, and I wish I was the Contractor.

I won't presume to say whether or not it's too much. I think you should get 2 more quotes, though, and go with the lowest.

Since you're posting in the DIY forums, I am going to assume that you really want to tackle this job yourself. If you think that you can, I'd say go for it, but PLEASE be sure that you know what you're doing. I think that's what you're trying to do by posting here, so just hang on while the pros get to this thread. I'm just learning too.

As far as the question you pose "My question is when we get the new panel (1350) do we NEED to have the house rewired (1500)?" I would say that you need to go with what the Contractor and the Inspector have to say about that. In many cases, an Inspector will fail a project, EVEN when the contractor is a Master license-holding, 30 year-experienced professional, that has other problems, such as bad wiring (from existing, old work) entering the breaker panel, open junction boxes, etc. Some inspectors go far beyond their duty to make sure that the house is up-to-date. So, I think it would be impossible for anyone here to say with any certainty whether or not you need to follow the elctrician's advise on upgrading the rest of the house. It's probably something the inspector
Well the problem with going with the attitude of "go with whatever the contractor has to say" is that these guys will rip you off at every chance they can. That is why I am doing my due diligence to see if they are indeed ripping me off.
kylevillella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 01:25 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Please help: upgrade question


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
When I do an upgrade, certian things in the house have to be upgraded as well.
Most of those include gfci's where required by code, interconnected smokes as dictated by codes and what ever room that is being upgraded or refinished needing arcfault breakers.

Local codes will vary!


$1500 to rewire a house without taking the walls down is a steal in my area!
JBFAN, thank you for your input. This brings me to another question: In the estimate it is says EXCLUSIONS: WALL PATCHING AND PAINTING IF NECESSARY. Now does this mean they could pull out all the dry wall, destroy the walls and then leave it like that, claiming they weren't responsible for the walls?

Last edited by kylevillella; 10-20-2010 at 01:29 PM. Reason: typo
kylevillella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 01:31 PM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,639
Default

Please help: upgrade question


They will not remove the old sheetrock, but holes must be made.
How many holes depends on size of house and attic and crawl space.

Unless it is a small hole, all my hole repairs are to be made by others.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 01:33 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Please help: upgrade question


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
They will not remove the old sheetrock, but holes must be made.
How many holes depends on size of house and attic and crawl space.

Unless it is a small hole, all my hole repairs are to be made by others.
OK, thanks JBFAN.
kylevillella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 01:39 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 19
Default

Please help: upgrade question


Yes that exactly what it means, they are not reliable to any structure damages. Personally when I go at a re wire, I always try my best to have no structural damage at all. But there are instances where your left with no choice to cut a channell from Pt A to Pt B to run a wire. If I have to cut big holes or remove large portions of drywall I always get approval from the client before proceeding. I tell them that I can repair the damages but the repairs are extra or they ca fix it them sleves or have another person come in and do it.

MY advice to you is to tell the person your hiring that if there is alot of structual damage to get your approval 1st before they demo the walls, floors etc. This way you have a somewhat controll of the damage that will occur.

**FYE**
**FYE** is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 01:43 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Please help: upgrade question


Quote:
Originally Posted by **FYE** View Post
Yes that exactly what it means, they are not reliable to any structure damages. Personally when I go at a re wire, I always try my best to have no structural damage at all. But there are instances where your left with no choice to cut a channell from Pt A to Pt B to run a wire. If I have to cut big holes or remove large portions of drywall I always get approval from the client before proceeding. I tell them that I can repair the damages but the repairs are extra or they ca fix it them sleves or have another person come in and do it.

MY advice to you is to tell the person your hiring that if there is alot of structual damage to get your approval 1st before they demo the walls, floors etc. This way you have a somewhat controll of the damage that will occur.

**FYE**
Fantastic, we just spent almost 1000k painting the whole house.
kylevillella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 02:14 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

Please help: upgrade question


Quote:
Originally Posted by kylevillella View Post
Well the problem with going with the attitude of "go with whatever the contractor has to say" is that these guys will rip you off at every chance they can. That is why I am doing my due diligence to see if they are indeed ripping me off.
I agree, kylevillella. That's why I said to get 3 quotes.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2010, 02:20 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,213
Default

Please help: upgrade question


What did quote for the hot tub wiring?

bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amps, charge, invoice, panel, upgrade


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Glass Fuse Panel box question? pouncerw Electrical 4 10-05-2009 09:01 PM
Can I upgrade my main panel? MarkinTexas Electrical 8 01-22-2009 10:15 AM
DIY 200A main service upgrade? Philip_Soldat Electrical 54 09-07-2008 11:02 AM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM
hrv question indep HVAC 3 07-17-2008 10:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.