Please Help! Meter Socket Question - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-26-2012, 04:57 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Please help! Meter socket question


Hooking up power off my house to my new shed for our buisness, wanting to put it on a different meter for tax purposes. Have 200amp pannel 200amp meter socket and the 3/O wire to run.I have the wire coming up from the ground a few feet over from my existing socket and I was planning on mounting the new meter socket right next to my house socket, piping them together, and piggybacking them together feeding both meters. The oncore guy came by to check it out before I actually knew what my plans were and had said that their line from the pole to the house would hold up to the 20,000 watts I plan on adding to the back, he told me to buy a dual meter socket but Can I just do as planned and piggy back off original 200a house meter to new meter or do I need to take off original single meter and install a new dual socket meter?

Advertisement

fraghouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 07:49 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 3,021
Rewards Points: 2,222
Default

Please help! Meter socket question


You should probably check with the power company. They will tell you what you can (and can't) do.

Advertisement

md2lgyk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 12:01 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Please help! Meter socket question


Are you trying to use the same service drop or latteral for both services? If not, you do not need to touch the existing service. I agree. You need an electrician and a utility guy for this. You say its a business? Well here comes your first business expense. Good luck and do not try to do things you do not know how to do safely.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 01:25 PM   #4
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Please help! Meter socket question


In my area, before you do anything, you call the power co and tell them what you want to do.

They will come by and put a tag on the building where they want the meter to be.

That is where you mount the meter. Period.

You need to check with the POCO, they have the final word on this.

Please put your location in your profile.
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 02:33 PM   #5
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,506
Default

Please help! Meter socket question


Quote:
Originally Posted by fraghouse View Post
.... The oncore guy came by to check it out ... he told me to buy a dual meter socket .....
The Oncore Guy is the POCO. (part of Texas)
He said buy a dual meter socket. I assume this means that you are asking them to read the meter monthly and bill you separately for the business.

If you really, really think you have the better idea, you can try talking to the Oncore Guy one more time. I wouldn't waste my time. I would go buy the new dual meter socket.
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Oso954 For This Useful Post:
fraghouse (11-26-2012)
Old 11-26-2012, 08:13 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Please help! Meter socket question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Oso954 View Post
The Oncore Guy is the POCO. (part of Texas)
He said buy a dual meter socket. I assume this means that you are asking them to read the meter monthly and bill you separately for the business.

(YES TAX write off)

If you really, really think you have the better idea, you can try talking to the Oncore Guy one more time. I wouldn't waste my time. I would go buy the new dual meter socket.
(Having a hard time finding it local, lowes, homedepot, mccoys, elliot. I need one thats a dual 200a that will fit oncore. Nobody has em that I can find)

Thanks for explaining oncore and giving your input. The oncore man came out before I had ran the wire and conduit, I didnt ask him about piggybacking the two meters together, I was siply trying to find out if the main wire from the pole could handle the shed load and my house. He said it was fine since most of my house runs off gas and to just install a dual meter socket. As far as oncore picking the location for the meter TTW... thats not how it works around here, and no permits are required either, I have built this whole shed and laid the slab with my own two hands and plan to wire it next week, with no experts and no permits, and at this point the shed is built better than most houses!!! Got quoted 27K and did it for 13.5K!!! Huge savings and I dont plan on stopping now! lol I DO have a electrician hooking up the actual wires in the meter but I am installing the box and socket myself and really thinking about just doing it all. I am going to apply for a temp disconect on the house so whats really the risk. I just wanted to double check my plans before I carry on. I figured it would be a easy question for somebody on this forum, if anyone has delt with this issue before or knows forsure what to do please feel free to give me your input!!! Thanks
fraghouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 08:49 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 3,021
Rewards Points: 2,222
Default

Please help! Meter socket question


Can you purchase a dual meter socket from the POCO?
md2lgyk is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to md2lgyk For This Useful Post:
fraghouse (11-27-2012)
Old 11-27-2012, 11:42 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 90
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Please help! Meter socket question


I'm not sure how you are going to hook the meters together. Oncor wont let you double lug them and they dont like (but might accept a trough) or gutter before the meters. Call up Oncor and see what they prefer.

You might find this interesting:

http://www.oncor.com/EN/Documents/Ab...n%20Tables.pdf
Auger01 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Auger01 For This Useful Post:
fraghouse (11-27-2012)
Old 11-27-2012, 12:20 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Please help! Meter socket question


Why are you not just building a new service for the business? Why does this have to be complicated? What am I missing in this discussion? Seems real straight forward to me.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to J. V. For This Useful Post:
fraghouse (11-27-2012)
Old 11-27-2012, 02:36 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Please help! Meter socket question


Great input!!! I was trying not to run a new service because of two driveways I would have to bore under to run the wire, its about 150ft from the shed to pole vs. 70ft now, and I have to dig a trench through my yard vs. the conduit it runs through now! Just all around more money and hassle, if I didn't have to run a new service it would be nice. It is going to be a chalange either way I do it but if worst comes to worst I will just run the new line! It would be better anyway! I have called Oncore and have another apointment set up, Im going to explore my options with him and I will let you guys know what happends. Thanks for the link Auger01!

Advertisement

fraghouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What size wire for 150ft run from meter fitchetm Electrical 14 09-22-2012 07:20 AM
Meter Socket Connection wewantutopia Electrical 9 09-12-2012 08:36 AM
Can the meter socket itself be replaced? Johnd85053 Electrical 19 02-14-2012 07:02 AM
Breaker box question szcott Electrical 11 05-06-2011 08:35 AM
Possible Defective or Incorrect Electrical Meter? MorganB Electrical 10 01-18-2011 10:51 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts