Please Help With Lighting Project? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-27-2008, 05:49 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Question

Please help with lighting project?

I found this post,and this person is obviously wanting to do the same thing as I am.
"
You're talking to a major newbie here (someone who should probably not mess around with this stuff! But I'm on a mission!). I have a very dark "cupboard" in my kitchen. It really needs a light in there. I would like to hang a light that I have - but it is the kind that is hard wired. I have a plug kit that would work and I would like to convert the light to be able to plug it into a socket. My question is this - Is it as simple as connecting the wires? What about the green/ground wire from the light? The plug kit I haveis a two prong. I wasn't able to find a 3 prong plug with the tioggle/rocker switch attached."
The answer to it was this,"Use a three conductor whip or 2/c, ungrounded with a GFCI only. Or, you could skip all the trouble and go the easy route-battery powered lights which require NO AC."
BUT ... I do not know what those things are.Is that what I would ask for at the hardware store?

I have a chandelier I recieved as a birthday gift that has two sockets,without switches,and a ground wire,and a red bedroom with 1920's style window.One over head light,and one lamp,and still not enough lighting.
Now it is time for me to turn the chandelier into a hanging lamp,but everything I learned in shop class has escaped me.
It is a two wire lamp ,with two sockets,with ground,but I want to connect a turnstyle switch cord to it.(I think that's what it's called...the cord has a switch that you turn the knob).
How can I eliminate the need for a ground,as I have nowhere to ground it to?