Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-31-2009, 09:01 PM   #1

Share |

please help! I dont know what went wrong

Today I replaced 3 old fixtures with 3brand new potlights. After each light was replaced, I would check the breaker to confirm it worked. Everything went well, and after the final light, I left the breaker on for the customer to view her new lighting.
She loved it. But when we left the room, she went to turn the lightswitch off and pointed out that it was already in the off position.. Her old lights were not switched like this, they were normal - up for on, down for off. Now this light being in the off position, and the room currently illuminated was a bit weird. So naturally, she flicked the switch upward, expecting the lights to go off. Instead, the breaker blew. Im not a licenced electrician, but I know the basics. Now each time her lights are on, they work fine, but to switch them off (which is also the former "on" position) the breaker breaks. and it can only be reset while the switch is in the former off position, meaning when I reset it, the lights come on automatically with the breaker. turning them off is what sets the breaker off. what have I done wrong, and how can I fix it? She already paid me, and refuses to take her money back, so I promised to fix it for her in a few days. help please, thanks.

ajax88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 09:16 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor

Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110

It's possible a white wire is feeding the switch and you've somehow have it hooked as a neutral and when the switch turns on it dead shorts.

Look in the switch box and see if a white wire is on the switch. that's about the only thing I can come up with, just not sure how it's working when the switch is "off"

Unless it's all good except how the switch is wired in.