Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-12-2011, 11:50 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 11
Share |
Default

Please help, have no clue what's going on.


I own it now, grandmother passed away and left it to me. That's why i'm trying to get it done for myself. I have an automotive background, so I'm usually pretty good at figuring things out. Electric just scares me and i'm not exactly sure how everything works in the panel. Which is why i'm not sure what to test, or what readings to expect.
JamesB2136 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 12:25 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,311
Default

Please help, have no clue what's going on.


If you haven't done so already, take the cover off the panel. Be VERY CAREFUL inside this panel. Check to make sure that all the white wires in the panel are inserted and tightened down properly on the neutral bus bar.

If you can, a closeup pic would be great.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 06:48 AM   #18
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,475
Default

Please help, have no clue what's going on.


This is one of those time when you need more help then we can give on the net.
You can't afford not to have an electricain come out and look at this problem.

Replacing a computer and tv will cost more than the electrician.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 07:15 AM   #19
I ask the impossible!
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Royal Oak, Michigan
Posts: 1,055
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Please help, have no clue what's going on.


Perhaps you have teachers or students taking trade related classes that might be able to help out?

That aside, how about starting with identifying the panel - brand, model, type of breakers, ampacity of the main breaker, whatever info you can provide so we can better understand what you have. And how old is the house?
__________________
Please do NOT consider any "before" picture of my house as any kind of endorsement of any particular construction method. In fact, you should probably assume that if I post a "before" picture, I am posting it because I am soliciting advice on a proper replacement for one of MANY things done wrong by a previous owner.
WillK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 07:39 AM   #20
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,201
Default

Please help, have no clue what's going on.


Did the POCO open the meter and check the connection inside. IF not then they should have. Even the electricain isn't supposed to go into the meter. It also wouldn't be the first time the POCO misssed the problem on the first look.
If the problem isn't in the meter then most likely the problem is at the main breaker. Either one of the line to the breaker is bad or the breaker connection to the buss bar is bad.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 03:05 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 11
Default

Please help, have no clue what's going on.


Okay, came home and tested power coming into the main. One line (multimeter on top bolt and ground) was 120. Second line (Bottom bolt + ground) was 0. I also did a lug to lug test which was 120. Apparently the problem is from the lines coming into the house. Turned off the main, pulled the meter. Both hots inside the meter box are 120. It appears the bottom female connector (for the meter itself) is slightly damaged and was split apart, causing it to arc and eventually burn out I suppose.

Being told by a friend, who's not really an electrician but has done a ton in the past while building houses that the meter box should be replaced and recheck. I tried to bend the female pin back to it's original state but I can't get it perfectly straight and i'm scared to put needle nose pliars in due to possible arcing into the hot....better safe than dead!

Anyway, does that sound reasonable for the tests I did? Should I run anymore? Or just go ahead and have the meter box replaced, recheck, and go from there?



Uploaded with ImageShack.us


Picture isn't posting right

http://img846.imageshack.us/img846/5...1320110011.jpg

Last edited by JamesB2136; 06-13-2011 at 03:16 PM.
JamesB2136 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 03:30 PM   #22
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

Please help, have no clue what's going on.


I'm not going to comment on pulling the meter but since it is out, that neutral wire doesn't look good either....
What did the meter pins look like?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 03:33 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 11
Default

Please help, have no clue what's going on.


The bottom right pin, the one that goes in the open slot was slightly burnt at the base. The pin itself didn't seem lose, flimsy, or damaged. Just the plstice at the base. the neutral wire seemed okay and zapped me when I touched it directly instead of the bolt like a retard
JamesB2136 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 03:45 PM   #24
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,475
Default

Please help, have no clue what's going on.


Since the meter belongs to the poco, they might have to have a say in the repair.
No way are you going to get the jaws tight enough to hold the meter, and restore and keep the lost leg working.

You need a new meter base.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"

Last edited by jbfan; 06-13-2011 at 03:53 PM. Reason: spelling
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
JamesB2136 (06-13-2011)
Old 06-13-2011, 03:48 PM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 11
Default

Please help, have no clue what's going on.


thanks man, you're about the third person to tell me to replace the meter box(base). So I feel confident that what needs to be done. I don't plan on doing that myself, don't worry. Not really interested in touching the pure live lines. I feel good about myself, being able to check and eliminate some stuff and find the problem, with help of course. Thanks again everyone for the help
JamesB2136 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 07:01 PM   #26
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,201
Default

Please help, have no clue what's going on.


In some place the POCO supplies the meter base.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacement Windows? Asbestos Shingles? I have NO CLUE! Evil Scotsman Carpentry 2 10-19-2010 12:01 PM
No clue - Do I need to plaster these areas? Pedro Monteiro Painting 0 09-11-2010 06:34 PM
I have no clue what to do, NEED HELP fcarswell Plumbing 7 04-05-2010 08:00 PM
Mold in Furnace?! No clue if rental company will help with cleaning charges! Sad Renter HVAC 13 01-05-2010 01:10 PM
painting basement...no clue what I'm doing! mark415 Interior Decorating 2 02-28-2008 02:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.