Please Help, Changing Dryer Cord From 3 Prong To 4 Prong - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-2008, 10:46 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Please help, changing dryer cord from 3 prong to 4 prong


I need help. I have a 4 prong outlet in my wall. I have a 3 prong dryer cord. I changed out the 3 prong cord for the 4 prong...for the most part. red to red, black to black...white to white...but now I have green wire from the dryer that I don't know what to do with? The green wire from the new 4 prong cord I believe goes to the ground screw on the back of the machine. So what do I do with the green wire inside the back of the dryer?
I guess in some models of dryer its a copper tab that can just be bent back...so what do I do with the green wire

Advertisement


Last edited by oldpirate; 08-05-2008 at 11:12 PM. Reason: i was rude initially
oldpirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 11:18 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,389
Rewards Points: 3,572
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Please help, changing dryer cord from 3 prong to 4 prong


The green wire needs to connect to the green wire from your cord and possibly the frame of the dryer. Look in your owners manual or online at the manufacture's site for detailed directions on making the 3 wire to 4 wire cord change.

Advertisement

joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 11:41 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Please help, changing dryer cord from 3 prong to 4 prong


According to this website I should just rewire the green wire coming from the dryer back to the neutral. I have the green wire from the cord going to the back of the dryer.... the bottom picture is where I'm at right now. I need to know if this is correct, thanks for your help.

http://www.american-appliance.com/ca...&newsdesk_id=5

I don't have a manual...the dryer is old as ****.

Last edited by oldpirate; 08-05-2008 at 11:44 PM. Reason: more info
oldpirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 12:05 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Please help, changing dryer cord from 3 prong to 4 prong


Quote:
Originally Posted by oldpirate View Post
According to this website I should just rewire the green wire coming from the dryer back to the neutral. I have the green wire from the cord going to the back of the dryer.... the bottom picture is where I'm at right now. I need to know if this is correct, thanks for your help.

http://www.american-appliance.com/ca...&newsdesk_id=5

I don't have a manual...the dryer is old as ****.
According to that web site, you would be wrong as they are.
Somewhere on the dryer that green wire is connected to the frame. There should be a spot for the green wire from the cord to connect to the frame also. A picture might help if the dryer is old as **** as you say it is.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 12:15 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,002
Rewards Points: 506
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Please help, changing dryer cord from 3 prong to 4 prong


This was posted by Stubbie back in January on another thread, I think this should help with the wiring diagram (some text omited due to relevance to the topic)....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
....This image by the way is a GE range terminal block and should be very similar to yours. The white wire connected to the center terminal is the neutral wire. The black and red are your hot conductors. The green of course is your equipment ground. This is showing the correct connection for your application. For a 3 wire connection there will be a metal strap from the white wire connection to where you see the green wire only that green wire is not present in a 3 wire range cord connection. So if it is installed you must remove that metal strap and that procedure is shown in the image after this one. The second image is the correct junction box using what is called a 1/2" raised double gang mud ring on a 4x4 by 2 1/8" metal box with a receptacle like yours installed. We can help you with the wiring if you like..... just ask.



Range Outlet Receptical Wiring - PICS-4-wire-ge-range.jpg
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 12:46 AM   #6
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,253
Rewards Points: 2,476
Default

Please help, changing dryer cord from 3 prong to 4 prong


In simple terms you do not have any green wires connected to the neutral terminal on a 4 -wire dryer cord connection. You only have the neutral to case bond on 3 wire dryer connections.

In your case ( 4 wire dryer cord) take that green wire coming from the dryer and connect it under the external ground screw with the green wire of the dryer cord. It will look like the below diagram.
Attached Thumbnails
Please help, changing dryer cord from 3 prong to 4 prong-4-wire-dryer-option-1.jpg  
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 12:51 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Please help, changing dryer cord from 3 prong to 4 prong


Thanks all. That helps greatly...I found a post elsewhere that said to disconnect the green wire from the back of the dryer/neutral and electrical tape it off and hide it. I ground the green wire from the cord and everything works fine.
oldpirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 07:31 AM   #8
Ash
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Israel
Posts: 63
Rewards Points: 75
Send a message via MSN to Ash
Default

Please help, changing dryer cord from 3 prong to 4 prong


Be sure to have the dryer grounded if it was designed to be. Use a multimeter to find which wire is ground (sometimes colors other than green are used)
Ash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2008, 05:42 PM   #9
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Please help, changing dryer cord from 3 prong to 4 prong


Here is a little slideshow I put together for a previous question.

http://s125.photobucket.com/albums/p...t=0db53106.pbw

Actually, that is a range, but a dryer hooks up the same way.

Advertisement

__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dryer , electrical , ground


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing 2 Prong To 3 Prong Outlet JAVAMAN Electrical 38 12-02-2012 07:32 AM
dryer Outlet change 3 prong to 4 prong oldpirate General DIY Discussions 2 08-06-2008 07:18 PM
Dryer Grounding??? Traci_howdyadothat Electrical 7 05-27-2008 02:14 PM
Ele hot water tank and welder sharing circuit wazeaz Electrical 68 03-19-2008 08:17 PM
Clothes Dryer / Outlet homercavazos Electrical 8 10-30-2007 05:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts