Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-20-2012, 08:24 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Share |
Lightbulb

PLEASE HELP - 3 Way Disaster



HERE'S THE SITUATION:

I have a 3-way, 30 amp wire coming from my fusebox and going to a light switch in my dining room. The wire then goes to a light switch at the top of the stairs to my basement. From there it goes to a third light switch in the basement for multiple lights in the ceiling.

I added pigtails to that third light switch and added 2, 15 amp outlets. When I was connecting the outlets, I simply turned off the second light switch at the top of the stairs. At the time I tested the wire to confirm there was no current.

I connected the socket and when I turned the light switch back on, I lost power to the entire circuit. All three light switches no longer had power.

I went back to the fuse box and nothing was tripped. The three way wire has power as it leaves the fuse box. But, the wires are dead at the first light switch. Any idea why? I'm really scratching my head.

Any help will be GREATLY appreciated!


here is the fuse box
http://s7.postimage.org/lbsw7bbh7/fusebox1.jpg


here is the type of fuse box I have. I believe it's NC120 and NC115 fuses.


johnnyg5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 08:59 PM   #2
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,266
Default

PLEASE HELP - 3 Way Disaster


Post a picture of the wiring that you added please----

__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 09:18 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

PLEASE HELP - 3 Way Disaster


There's so many problems with that I'm not sure where to start.
How do you have a 30a lighting circuit?
Are you sure the white wasn't a switch leg?
Where does the three way switching come into play?
It's not possible to have a 3 way wire from your panel. A multiwire branch circuit yes but a 3 way switch doesn't originate from the panel.


Lastly and most importantly, never work on a circuit with the switch off. Flip the breaker off. The neutral can still carry current with the switch off.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to andrew79 For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (08-20-2012), operagost (08-21-2012), plummen (08-20-2012)
Old 08-20-2012, 09:59 PM   #4
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

PLEASE HELP - 3 Way Disaster


I think I found the problem.....that's a FP panel I believe.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 10:27 PM   #5
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,875
Default

PLEASE HELP - 3 Way Disaster


I do not think that is your lighting circuit. It looks like a 120 volt / 240 volt dryer branch circuit. That breaker is a double pole stab lok. I don't think you have this circuit mapped out correctly. Have you left out any details?
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Stubbie For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (08-20-2012)
Old 08-21-2012, 12:05 AM   #6
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,531
Default

PLEASE HELP - 3 Way Disaster


- A residential general purpose lighting circuit cannot be 30A.
- A 30A circuit cannot be used to power receptacles.
- You cannot take power from the second 3-way switch in most installations, because there is often no neutral available and/or no constant hot.
- You should be aware that no matter whether the light is on or off, one or more wires at each switch in a 3-way installation is always hot! Turning the light off does NOT remove power at the other switch. The breaker must be off to work on the circuit.
- Does the power to the receptacles come back on when you play with the switches? If so, then things are all screwed up and you've got switch legs or the traveler wired into the receptacles.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 07:09 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Lightbulb

PLEASE HELP - 3 Way Disaster


Unfortunately i already disconnected everything from the third switch to the last outlet. I did double check my connections and it all look correct. I was using 15 amp outlets. I cant imagine what happened since it didnt even trip the breaker. I wasnt using the red wire for anything. I basically had it capped off.

My main questions are:

Is it possible that whatever i did could have broken the wire someplace? I ask this becuse the wire leaving the fuse box has power yet the first outlet doesnt.

Would replacing the breaker switch with one 15Amp breaker and ditching the red wire all together help?

How should i troubleshoot further?

Any other info will be GREATLY appreciated? Im pulling my hair out over this.
johnnyg5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 07:12 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Talking

PLEASE HELP - 3 Way Disaster


Thank you to everyone for your replies!!!
I was reading this on my phone and posted that last rreply befofe i saw all the other responses.

I believe you guys are right. I do have this mapped wrong. I'll take another look after work and post new details
johnnyg5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 04:21 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 4
Default

PLEASE HELP - 3 Way Disaster


OK, it turns out I did map it out wrong. I think I was paniced when I couldn't fix it. Anyway... the thing I thought was going to my circuit was for my washer/dryer.

But now I'm stuck. I've replaced the 15amp and 20amp breakers on each circuit in my box and none of those made a difference.

I'm not sure what to do next. Is it possible I fried the actual wires? How should I continue troubleshooting? Any help is very appreciated. Thanks guys!
johnnyg5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 10:09 PM   #10
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Default

PLEASE HELP - 3 Way Disaster


What wires are at the switch you added the receptacles to? Red, Black, White?
What did you do with the switch, still installed or just removed?
I have a feeling you don't have the wires needed at that switch to add receptacles. Pictures of the switch location would help
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 10:36 PM   #11
Member
 
Rochsolid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Posts: 97
Default

PLEASE HELP - 3 Way Disaster


You need to hire a LICENSED electrician to get in there and fix everything, before you burn your house down.
Rochsolid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 10:20 AM   #12
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

PLEASE HELP - 3 Way Disaster


Johnny G...with all due respect I believe you are in over your head here. It's time to bite the bullet and call a professional...or at least someone with a bit more knowledge of electrical circuitry than you. No disrespect, no insult, just thinking that you may be risking your safety, and your property. ....just sayin'.

__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
3 way switch, fuses, help electrical wiring


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"new" house. bathroom is a disaster forresth Plumbing 0 08-31-2010 09:24 PM
PVA Primer Disaster bobcatm Painting 1 08-17-2010 12:41 PM
Rescue from a flat roof disaster pompopei Roofing/Siding 12 08-25-2009 11:55 AM
Floor Joist damage - bathing my way to disaster? Leah Frances Building & Construction 3 01-27-2008 10:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.