Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-19-2013, 04:13 PM   #1
Member
 
justinramani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Please help!


I'm buying a house and need to know if this electrical looks ok. I mainly want to know of there is any evidence of aluminum wiring in the house. I can't afford to rewire. I have to make a decision in the next 4 hours. Please help!

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Please help!-image-3425958210.jpg   Please help!-image-3542229126.jpg   Please help!-image-1639488612.jpg   Please help!-image-1211189611.jpg   Please help!-image-3630732722.jpg  

Please help!-image-1447338795.jpg   Please help!-image-1626013840.jpg   Please help!-image-123690277.jpg  

justinramani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 04:31 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Please help!


It definitely needs some work and those panels are not really that good from what I hear.

I don't see a need to rewire from the pics but maybe tidying up some of the boxes and replacing the breaker panel in the future would be a good start.

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 04:45 PM   #3
Member
 
justinramani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Please help!


So it doesn't look like there is any aluminum wires to worry about?

Thanks for your quick response
justinramani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 04:47 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Please help!


What does the 60 amp breaker feed? Aluminium wire is still used to feed panels and sometimes large appliances.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 04:52 PM   #5
Member
 
justinramani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Please help!


Is it possible to tell from this pic?

Maybe outside plugs or storage bldg out back?
Attached Thumbnails
Please help!-image-1717399112.jpg  
justinramani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 05:33 PM   #6
Member
 
Trucon01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 655
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Please help!


Looks like the storage building. Did you look inside the storage building to see if you could locate another panel?
__________________
Basement Demo started Jan 2012: View my basement progression!!!

Bathroom demo started Feb 2013: View my bathroom progression!!!
Trucon01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 05:40 PM   #7
Member
 
justinramani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Please help!


I actually didn't notice any electricity at the storage building, but its very possible that I missed it. I need to get rid of any aluminum wire in the house for insurance purposes. Would it be reasonable to simply remove electricity to the shed? It's not a nice shed anyways. How expensive would that be?
justinramani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 05:50 PM   #8
Member
 
Trucon01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 655
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Please help!


The top left breaker is also AL, looks like it is your range? You could have more AL that we cannot see from the pics too.
__________________
Basement Demo started Jan 2012: View my basement progression!!!

Bathroom demo started Feb 2013: View my bathroom progression!!!
Trucon01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 06:13 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 89
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Please help!


The 60A breaker is AL. the 30A breaker above it is AL. The top left breaker is AL. Your main feeds look to be AL but can't tell for sure.

Al wiring is really not an issue if handle properly. I know some people have come on here saying they can't get insurance, but I just don't get it. It's basically ignorance which is causing confusion and rash decisions.

If your insurance absolutely won't insure if ANY AL is in the house, then you have some work to do.

Quite a lot of large feeders in commercial building are done in AL. They still can get insurance.
parman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 06:14 PM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Please help!


Worst case you would have to replace the wire for those two circuits. It's still legal to feed sub panels with AL
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 06:15 PM   #11
Member
 
justinramani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Please help!


I'm a little worried, but I think it's good that the other circuits are connected with copper. I'm going to be pretty stretched with the budget - so I want to make sure in not getting in over my head. What's a good idea of the cost to get the necessary items fixed?
justinramani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 06:28 PM   #12
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,847
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Please help!


Quote:
Originally Posted by justinramani View Post
I'm going to be pretty stretched with the budget - so I want to make sure in not getting in over my head.
Is it a good idea to get into a home with a stretched budget?
Can you afford the house with a few thousand left in the bank? If not I'd be surprised if you even get a mortgage.



Quote:
Originally Posted by justinramani View Post
What's a good idea of the cost to get the necessary items fixed?
Absolutely NO WAY to tell from here. Not even a clue. All we have to go on is a few blurry pics of some panels and boxes. We have no idea where these circuits go, how long, what path, etc. A wild guess would not even be close to accurate.

Did you not get a home inspection?
What inspection do you need to get rid of the AL wiring for?

As the others have said, AL wiring larger than #10 is NOT a problem. Anyone that tells you it is is either trying to sell you something with scare tactics, or does not know what they are talking about.

I'm sorry, but it needs saying. If you are coming to an internet message board in a panic, with a 4 hour time frame, asking these questions, where the answers will be the basis for buying a home (!!!), you are NOT getting off on such a good foot.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 06:41 PM   #13
Member
 
justinramani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Please help!


Fair enough. Here is the rest of the story:


The house is a foreclosure that I'm getting for 28k. I need to send the earnest money, but before I commit to $1,000 I wanted to make sure that I was not going to have a 10k electric bill to rewire the house with copper to make it safe. It will be a rental, but that doesn't matter - safety is still my #1 concern. Paying to get a 28k house rewired would make kill the deal. I can manage to spend maybe $800-$1500, but its something that I didn't originally budget for.
justinramani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 07:21 PM   #14
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Please help!


Getting someone to come in a fix all the issues with all the outlets would be a start and making sure that the kitchen and bathroom have GFCI protection.

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.