Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-05-2009, 10:00 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Please confirm wire size and type for amperage.


I have tried to use the online wire sizing calculators and charts to determine what I am going to need and found that almost every calculator/chart gives a different answer.

120 Volts

Single Phase

Distance: 65 feet

Will be in conduit buried 18 inches

From the many calculators and charts I seem to be leaning toward these sizes and types for the following 3 loads...

1. 100 amp - #3 AWG THWN copper

2. 60 amp - #6 AWG THHN copper

3. 30 amp - #10 AWG THHN copper

Does the sizes and types look OK?

wantsomegetsome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 10:07 PM   #2
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Please confirm wire size and type for amperage.


Yes. Some may say you'll need to bump the wire size for voltage drop, but IMHO I think those sound good. Assuming you are talking copper conductors.

Now don't forget about equipment grounding conductor size, and your pipe fill.

goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 11:00 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 999
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Please confirm wire size and type for amperage.


Also, any wire installed in the ground or outside must be wet location rated, with single conductors in conduit this means they must be THWN rated wires. Most wire is dual rated THHN/THWN, but check to make sure it is.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 06:33 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Please confirm wire size and type for amperage.


I meant to type THWN for all of those. I'm glad you caught that. Those where copied and pasted directly from the shopping list I'm making and it was wrong there too.


1. 100 amp = #3 THWN copper

2. 60 amp = #6 THWN copper

3. 30 amp = #10 THWN copper

4. Ground = #6 THWN copper

PVC conduit, 40% fill, two 90 degree bends = 1 inch minimum. I'll go with 1 1/2" for easier pulling.
wantsomegetsome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 07:04 AM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,554
Rewards Points: 36
Default

Please confirm wire size and type for amperage.


For a distance of 65' there is no need to upsize the wire for voltage drop. You don't need to worry about drop until you get over 150' feet with the wire.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 05:19 PM   #6
Member
 
Bigplanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 517
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Please confirm wire size and type for amperage.


Quote:
Originally Posted by wantsomegetsome View Post
I meant to type THWN for all of those. I'm glad you caught that. Those where copied and pasted directly from the shopping list I'm making and it was wrong there too.


1. 100 amp = #3 THWN copper

2. 60 amp = #6 THWN copper

3. 30 amp = #10 THWN copper

4. Ground = #6 THWN copper

PVC conduit, 40% fill, two 90 degree bends = 1 inch minimum. I'll go with 1 1/2" for easier pulling.
Go 2 inch in case you ever want to remove the wire and upgrade. The expense is the trench. The difference in pipe costs are negligible. Always go bigger with the pipe. Always.
Bigplanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 06:12 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Please confirm wire size and type for amperage.


Where could you possibly need 30, 60 or 100 amps at 120v???

If this is for a feeder you can and should use 240v for your calculations.

I agree, 65' is not even worth thinking about VD.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 07:30 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 272
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Please confirm wire size and type for amperage.


Quote:
Originally Posted by wantsomegetsome View Post
I meant to type THWN for all of those. I'm glad you caught that. Those where copied and pasted directly from the shopping list I'm making and it was wrong there too.


1. 100 amp = #3 THWN copper

2. 60 amp = #6 THWN copper

3. 30 amp = #10 THWN copper

4. Ground = #6 THWN copper

PVC conduit, 40% fill, two 90 degree bends = 1 inch minimum. I'll go with 1 1/2" for easier pulling.

Are you saying you want to install ALL three of these circuits in your conduit, or that you are going to choose one from the list?

What is the circuit(s) for?
__________________
Willis
williswires is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 08:20 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 0
Smile

Please confirm wire size and type for amperage.


IMHO the wire size/load calculations are correct. But adding in the other factor; Namely, distance. Even though the presented sizes are correct. But raising the size (AWG) (this is the funny thing about AWG. The higher the # the thinner the wire. Actually, it's not humorous at all. There's a logical reason for it. The gauge is measured from the outside IN. Therefore, the closer to the core, (higher #) the thinner the wire.) will increase performance, due to Voltage Drop!!!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 08:31 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Please confirm wire size and type for amperage.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Where could you possibly need 30, 60 or 100 amps at 120v???

If this is for a feeder you can and should use 240v for your calculations.

I agree, 65' is not even worth thinking about VD.
You're right that 'feeder' calculations should be @ 240V. And @ 65ft., VD is not a major factor. But for individual loads the wire sizes are correct (theoretically). As far as increasing wire size; Even though Voltage drop is not a major factor @ less than 100ft+, still, it would improve performance! Again, the examples given here are mostly theoretical. With very little practical application!!!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 08:32 PM   #11
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Please confirm wire size and type for amperage.


Quote:
Originally Posted by spark plug View Post
IMHO the wire size/load calculations are correct. But adding in the other factor; Namely, distance. Even though the presented sizes are correct. But raising the size (AWG) will increase performance, due to Voltage Drop!!!
You really believe this at only 65 feet?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 09:31 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Please confirm wire size and type for amperage.


Quote:
Originally Posted by spark plug View Post
The gauge is measured from the outside IN. Therefore, the closer to the core, (higher #) the thinner the wire.) will increase performance, due to Voltage Drop!!!
??
From Wiki
"Increasing gauge numbers give decreasing wire diameters, which is similar to many other non-metric gauging systems. This gauge system originated in the number of drawing operations used to produce a given gauge of wire. Very fine wire (for example, 30 gauge) requires more passes through the drawing dies than does 0 gauge wire"
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2009, 04:56 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Please confirm wire size and type for amperage.


Quote:
Originally Posted by williswires View Post
Are you saying you want to install ALL three of these circuits in your conduit, or that you are going to choose one from the list?

What is the circuit(s) for?
The wires are to be hard wired to a deck oven. The oven has two parts, an oven and a proofer.



Oven

240 volts
12250 watts
51 amps



Proofer

120 volts
2960 watts
24.6 amps



1. 100 amp = #3 THWN copper

One hot needs to be able to carry 51 + 24.6 amps = 75.6 amps


2. 60 amp = #6 THWN copper

One hot needs to be able to carry 51 amps.


3. 30 amp = #10 THWN copper

The neutral is only used in the 120 volt proofer part of the oven which runs at 24.6 amps.


4. Ground = #6 THWN copper

Then the ground wire for the entire thing.


wantsomegetsome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2009, 05:23 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Please confirm wire size and type for amperage.


Is this for a commercial building? If it's residential, what size service do you have?
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2009, 05:49 AM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Please confirm wire size and type for amperage.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryh3 View Post
Is this for a commercial building? If it's residential, what size service do you have?
It's for my house. Main service panel is 200 amp 120/240 volt. The oven will be in operation for about 2 hours in a day about once a week. Also, the oven won't likely be running at its very maximum.

wantsomegetsome is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What type size mesh to keep out rats/mice? darsunt Pest Control 3 11-21-2008 10:35 AM
Nail size and Type ????? mjkpainting Carpentry 7 11-21-2008 02:06 AM
wire size for sub panel DSimo Electrical 1 07-31-2008 06:26 AM
What type / size screws for subloor project... scheenstra Building & Construction 1 05-17-2008 08:22 PM
Wire size and type in Rigid Metal Conduit Al the Diy guy Electrical 5 02-05-2008 08:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.