Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-23-2011, 06:33 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Planning for grounding: new service in new house


A 200A load center will be fed from a feed-through panel in a nearby barn/garage, and we are thinking about how to best do a grounding system.

We need two electrodes, and these, when bonded together and appropriately terminated at the load center, comprise our system. This, per my interpretation of NEC 2008 250.53 (B).

We are thinking that one electrode can be the galvanized steel water line coming from the well (per 250.52 (A)(1)) and the other can be a section of the #4 steel rebar encased in the foundation wall footing (per 250.52 (A)(3)).

We can attach an appropriate copper cable to the rebar before the footing is poured, and stick it out toward the inside, for later attachment at load center.

My question relates to spacing. the water line comes in only 5 or 6 inches above the wall footing. How far apart does code require the cable attachments to these two "electrodes?"

JohnstownFlood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 07:08 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,543
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Planning for grounding: new service in new house


If this is a NEW house then you may be required to use a UFER ground installed into the foundation. Best verify if your local requires it before you pour the foundation.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 07:19 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Planning for grounding: new service in new house


Agreed, a ufer is likely required and preferrable - IMO.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 07:41 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Planning for grounding: new service in new house


But wasn't I describing a Ufer electrode, that being the concrete-encased steel (1/2" diameter) reinforcing bar in the foundation wall footing?

If one electrode is the water pipe, and the other is the Ufer electrode, where does the called for (or is it called for) separation come into play?

The water pipe entry is down near the footing. The Ufer is in the footing.
JohnstownFlood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 08:08 PM   #5
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,865
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Planning for grounding: new service in new house


There is no spacing requirement.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 08:43 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,946
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Planning for grounding: new service in new house


The spacing reqjirement only applies when the grounding electrode is a rod in the earth and when two of them are needed.

They need to be at least 6-1/2 feet apart.

If a ufer ground is required and the concrete pour forgot, omitted, or neglected it, how is that situation resolved? By pouring a dummy footing alongside the foundation after the fact, with a rebar embedded?
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 03-23-2011 at 08:49 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 08:57 AM   #7
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Planning for grounding: new service in new house


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
The spacing reqjirement only applies when the grounding electrode is a rod in the earth and when two of them are needed.

They need to be at least 6-1/2 feet apart.
6 feet. (Unless the 2011 NEC changed it)

__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird wiring in house fdmillion Electrical 13 06-14-2013 06:49 PM
Electrical Service to Guest House cmlewis Electrical 2 12-25-2010 12:29 PM
installing whole house filter on outside of house MikeInFL Plumbing 3 06-12-2010 04:47 PM
Questions about jacking up house to replace rotted rim/sill SolidStateS15 Remodeling 10 03-22-2010 11:43 AM
Complete AC installation in Old Capitol Hill Row House jacko10 HVAC 0 09-18-2007 05:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.