Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-30-2010, 12:57 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 32
Share |
Question

Plan on turning an existing light circuit into 3way?


Ive currently got my feed from the panel and wire to the light at my single switch and was wondering what connections were required if i planned on changing that to a 3way switch with another on the other side of the room? Can this be down by just running a 3 wire between the switches or does either the feed or light have to be at the other switch? I understand how to do it that way but was kind of hoping to leave the existing wires run. Thanks.

mj876 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 01:10 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 32
Question

Plan on turning an existing light circuit into 3way?


I don't know if this will help you understand what i am trying to work with or not.
Attached Thumbnails
Plan on turning an existing light circuit into 3way?-3way.jpg  

mj876 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 01:23 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,382
Default

Plan on turning an existing light circuit into 3way?


It is possible to wire this as a dead-end 3 way. Splice the incoming power to the white of the 3 wire + ground cable. this is your Common. Place the outgoing black on the Common of the 3 way switch at the original location. Black and red of new cable to traveler terminals of both switches. Re-identify the now hot white with black tape or magic marker at both ends.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
mj876 (08-30-2010)
Old 08-30-2010, 04:00 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 32
Default

Plan on turning an existing light circuit into 3way?


This will function exactly like a normal 3way switch?
mj876 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 04:02 PM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,382
Default

Plan on turning an existing light circuit into 3way?


There will be no difference.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 05:28 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 32
Default

Plan on turning an existing light circuit into 3way?


Alright i think i got it.

Last edited by mj876; 08-30-2010 at 05:42 PM.
mj876 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 05:43 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 32
Default

Plan on turning an existing light circuit into 3way?


Is this what you mean? I used blue to represent the white wire and the colored-in terminals represent the commons.
Attached Thumbnails
Plan on turning an existing light circuit into 3way?-3way.jpg  
mj876 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 05:51 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,856
Default

Plan on turning an existing light circuit into 3way?


Yes, the diagram immediately above is correct.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 05:55 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 32
Default

Plan on turning an existing light circuit into 3way?


Alright thanks alot guys.

mj876 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tripping breakers,neutrals,120 volts and 240 volts OH My!!! Stubbie Electrical 17 06-11-2011 06:09 AM
Branching off existing circuit schnitz411 Electrical 13 03-14-2010 10:11 PM
outdoor light fixture kills everything on circuit kramwens Electrical 10 10-10-2009 03:50 PM
Adding 15 amp light and switch on a 20 amp circuit Jzack26 Electrical 1 08-02-2009 04:02 PM
Adding second light switch to an existing light TexasEd Electrical 7 08-15-2008 06:22 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.