Pilot Wire ?? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-19-2007, 02:27 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Pilot Wire ??


Hi there

I have just purchased a chrome wall mounted towel radiator for the bathroom. The cabling consists on 3 wires Brown,Blue and a Black wire labled PILOT WIRE can I use this for the earth wire ?? as I prusume this product should be earthed ? Hope you can help

Advertisement

Von Daniken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2007, 03:41 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Pilot Wire ??


Pilot wire is not a typical US term. Sounds to me more like a control wire of some sort.

#1 rule with electrical is DON'T PRESUME ANYTHING.


If you don't have installation instructions, Google is your friend.

Advertisement

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2007, 04:27 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,360
Rewards Points: 3,514
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Pilot Wire ??


You are in a forum that is mostly North American based. You colour scheme is indicating that you are in UK, Australia or NZ. Not too many here are up on those systems.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2007, 05:23 PM   #4
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,219
Rewards Points: 2,408
Default

Pilot Wire ??


Von daniken

If you are in the UK earth is a green and yellow wire. Not too long ago the uk went on a new wiring colour scheme (March 2006) If this is a new product you recently purchased the colour brown is a live wire. The color black is a live wire and blue is your neutral. There was no change in the earth wire it is always green and yellow. My guess is that an additional earth bonding terminal has been provided to run an earth to the metal rack at the spur. The black pilot wire is for connection to the BMS if wanted otherwise it is not used.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2007, 10:09 PM   #5
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Pilot Wire ??


You know, I was curious about why the color scheme was changed in the first place. I've only dealt with this once before on some German elevator equipment, but the neutral was brown. I know it changed, but for God's sake why keep the old colors in the new scheme? Seems like it could be an absolute menace.
goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2007, 09:23 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Pilot Wire ??


Thankyou for the response.
It appears after a bit of surfing the the Pilot wire as its labled is used to recieve information from a theromstat or linking to other radiators..
Other similar models dont require an earth so thats why the green and yellow isn't in the cabling.
I'm in France by the way but i'm English.

Steven
Von Daniken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2007, 10:38 AM   #7
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,219
Rewards Points: 2,408
Default

Pilot Wire ??


Yes your correct about the pilot when I referred to the BMS (Building Management System) that was what I was intending to say that a thermostat would be connected to it.

The old single phase colours red (live), black (neutral) and green and yellow (earth) were changed (except for earth which stayed the same) to be more 'harmonized' in the European countries. The old colours are not included in the new scheme , however extensions must be made from the old colours using the new colours. It was rather error prone in the beginning I'm told but has since become just another day on the job. Whenever you enter a spur or rose (JB or fixture box to us in the US) you must label the box notifying the electrician that new colours and old colours are present.

Example... there is not a heck of a lot of difference in how they wire in the IEC vs the USA it just that we have 120 volts and they have higher voltage around 230 volts for their line to neutral circuits. Their equivalent 12/2 g will have a brown and blue and bare wire or a green and yellow wire. Brown (hot), (blue) neutral or grounded leg and equipment ground (bare or green and yellow). They must color the blue wire brown in switch loops just as we color white wires black. So voltage is really where we differ. They have a much different way of doing things in the breaker panel which they call a consumer unit. The image below is a typical consumer unit with one gfci (orange toggle) protecting all the circuits. a gfci in Europe or the UK is called an RCD (residual current device). In the wiring diagram the large center breaker is the rcd. Far right is the main breaker and the rest are of course the branch circuits.



And the wiring diagram inside a consumer unit and a typical cable just like our nm-b only 230 volts between brown (live) & blue (neutral) and a bare (earth).
Attached Images
   

Advertisement


Last edited by Stubbie; 12-20-2007 at 11:26 AM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can you wire a 3-way circuit with 2 wire + ground mnyman2003 Electrical 8 12-04-2007 09:23 AM
heat turns pilot light off tclarkmd HVAC 3 10-12-2007 10:37 AM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 09:58 AM
hot pilot light supply line dlkk HVAC 1 02-24-2006 06:45 PM
Does a 6 x 12ga wire nut exist? peeks Electrical 1 10-02-2005 10:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts