Pigtailing For Lights - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-02-2008, 12:41 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 179
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Pigtailing for lights


Hey, I have a question about pig tailing for lights. I have four lights I have to power from one feed. The feed starts in the 4 gang box, and there are four sets on NM going to each light . Can I put four pigtails to the hot feed to feed each switch. That would be a total of five conductors under one nut. I would use the right nut of course.

Advertisement

James Con is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2008, 01:15 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,345
Rewards Points: 3,484
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Pigtailing for lights


No pigtails requitred here. Simply connect the wires from the switch cable to the power cable and the light fixture cables.

Advertisement

joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2008, 02:56 PM   #3
Contractor - Renovations
 
fungku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 260
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Pigtailing for lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by James Con View Post
Hey, I have a question about pig tailing for lights. I have four lights I have to power from one feed. The feed starts in the 4 gang box, and there are four sets on NM going to each light . Can I put four pigtails to the hot feed to feed each switch. That would be a total of five conductors under one nut. I would use the right nut of course.
Yes.
fungku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2008, 08:56 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 179
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Pigtailing for lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
No pigtails requitred here. Simply connect the wires from the switch cable to the power cable and the light fixture cables.
Each light is going to be controlled by it's own switch. Four switches total.
James Con is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2008, 09:38 AM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,345
Rewards Points: 3,484
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Pigtailing for lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by James Con View Post
Each light is going to be controlled by it's own switch. Four switches total.
Mis read your first post.
Yes connect four pigtails to the feed power hot wire. Then connect one pigtail to each switch.

Last edited by joed; 08-03-2008 at 09:40 AM.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2008, 09:39 AM   #6
electrical contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Georgia USA
Posts: 181
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Pigtailing for lights


That leaves you with 6 grounds if you are using a metal box, not a problem with the correct wirenut.
__________________
Jimmy

Life is tough, Life is tougher when you are stupid.
wire_twister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2008, 06:49 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 179
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Pigtailing for lights


Cool, For my future reference what's the max. # of pig tails allowed to feed off a hot. With the right wire nut and box.
James Con is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2008, 07:35 PM   #8
Contractor - Renovations
 
fungku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 260
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Pigtailing for lights


I very highly doubt you'll ever run into that situation.

I think you'd run into the issue of having too many wires entering the box first.

Last edited by fungku; 08-04-2008 at 12:57 AM.
fungku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2008, 09:26 PM   #9
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Pigtailing for lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by James Con View Post
Cool, For my future reference what's the max. # of pig tails allowed to feed off a hot. With the right wire nut and box.
There is no limit in the electric code. And wires which do not enter or leave the box (pigtails) are not counted for box fill.
__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2008, 12:29 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 179
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Pigtailing for lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by jrclen View Post
There is no limit in the electric code. And wires which do not enter or leave the box (pigtails) are not counted for box fill.

Advertisement

James Con is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts