Pigtail A 4 Wire Outlett - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-25-2010, 12:12 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Pigtail a 4 wire outlett


Hey guys - first time post here so i'll try to be as detailed as I can. I have 30 yr old aluminum wiring throughout my new house and i've been upgrading here and there as we do some renovations. I am not going to be renovating the main floor however so an electrician advised I just pigtail the outlets as a cheaper option to replacing the wiring. I had him do a few (for $15 an outlet) and it didn't seem that hard. I went and got anti-oxident paste, copper wiring, new outletts, covers and marretts rated for aluminum to copper.

I have done a few in the house (light switches and outlets) but have a question about outlets that have 4 wires plus a ground all terminated at the outlet. To tail these off, i find it very difficult to squeeze 5 single pigtails (this is 5 marrettes, and 5 additional lenghts of copper wire) into the existing box. My question is - Am i supposed to be doing 5 pig tails? or should i be doing 3 by tailing both Black aluminum wires to a single copper, and both White aluminum wires to a single copper then terminating just the 2 copper wires and ground at the new outlett?

This would cut down on 2 marrets & 2 copper tails and would make it alot easier to get everything back into the box.

Thanks for any help!

Advertisement

bbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 06:24 AM   #2
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Pigtail a 4 wire outlett


If it's a non switched outlet it's simple all you need to do is Splice all the whites with a tail coming from them. Splice the ground wires with a tail off of it. And do the same with the blacks. So you will have three pig tails and your all set

Advertisement

dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 07:54 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Pigtail a 4 wire outlett


Awesome thanks for the help!

I'm assuming 3-way switches will also require the 5 tails too right?
bbman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What type wire to use from transfer switch to outdoor outlet brjl Electrical 32 11-20-2013 09:36 AM
Proper Use of Green Wire Nuts HooKooDooKu Electrical 16 06-29-2012 07:41 PM
Wire Nuts Cutting Wire dw1256 Electrical 2 04-15-2010 02:12 PM
Fanimation ceiling fan question: no blue wire from ceiling camrn2006 Electrical 8 03-07-2010 01:19 AM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 04:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts