Pigtail - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-23-2008, 11:09 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 25
Default

pigtail


My son is replacing a light fixture. When he pulled it away from the wall, he found that the two black wires from the lamp were connected by a pigtail to the black wire in the box. Ditto for the neutral.
Is there any reason for him not to connect the two black wires from the new lamp directly to the black wire in the box, eliminating the pigtail? Ditto for the neutral. He said that the additional length that the pigtails provide is not necessary.
Having the pigtails in there seemed like just one more place where something could go wrong.
potomac101

Advertisement

Potomac101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 12:18 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,955
Rewards Points: 2,306
Default

pigtail


Code requires 6 inches of conductors to come out of the box. Maybe that was the reason for the pigtail. If you have the room, and enough wire, you can remove the pigtail and wire the light like you asked.

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 12:32 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 25
Default

pigtail


thanks jbfan,

just out of curiosity, why 6 inches - why wouldn't 4 or 5 inches do just as well??
Potomac101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 01:40 PM   #4
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,206
Rewards Points: 2,382
Default

pigtail


The six inches is measured from the point the conductor leaves the cable sheath for outlets, junctions and switch points. However if the opening to the box is less than 8 inches in any dimension you are only required to have 3 inches of conductor extending outside the box. This would pretty much be all fixture boxes in a home. If you had to have 6 inches of free conductor at a pancake box that would be a real trick to get all that folded in that small of a volume.

Last edited by Stubbie; 01-23-2008 at 01:44 PM.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 06:38 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 309
Rewards Points: 250
Default

pigtail


Is the pigtail by any chance connected to aluminum wire???
Randell Tarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2008, 06:57 PM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

pigtail


Quote:
Originally Posted by Randell Tarin View Post
Is the pigtail by any chance connected to aluminum wire???

This will show up with older house build before early 70's but later one they ran just straght copper wires for branch circuits but there are few spots that allowed to use the Alum wire is #8 or larger like dryer , range , oven appalince connection [ some local code may not allow this at all ]

and with alum branch circuits wire they are pretty tricky to do the proper termation there is not very many approved methold to splice them.

If the OP do have Alum wire there i am sure he will holler to us then we can help him what is the correct producre to do this in safe manner.

Merci, Marc

P.S. some wire will look like alum but if you cut one end and see copperish colour then it is copper clad AKA copper tinned wire due the older style of rubber insluation materal have poor reaction to each other and if the end of wire look all sliver then you got straght alum wire.

Advertisement


Last edited by frenchelectrican; 01-23-2008 at 06:59 PM. Reason: add quick tibbit with the wire
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
changing a range outlet or plug marty7 Electrical 9 12-17-2007 11:11 PM
Number of wires under one neutral bus bar terminal screw? Beren Electrical 12 07-17-2007 04:56 AM
Pigtail inside panel box. Code allowed? KUIPORNG Electrical 7 08-22-2006 04:45 PM
How do I add switch to pull-chain light sherlock Electrical 4 06-30-2006 03:01 PM
Pigtail on GFCI/AFCI breaker - uncoil it? IvoryRing Electrical 1 03-27-2006 09:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts