Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-12-2012, 09:23 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Pier Wiring Leaking

Hello all,
I recently installed an old elevator winch onto my pier to use as a boat lift. It's wired as 220v and it only draws 6 amps under full load. There are 3 wires supplying the winch, two hot wires and a ground / neutral. As you can probably tell, I'm not an electrician...

Well, I finished wiring it all up and tested it out. It worked great. When it got dark, I started pulling my aluminum ladder out of the water and I noticed that the cable coming off of the winch was lightly arcing on the ladder as they touched. I unplugged the winch and the arcing went away. Something is obviously wrong and needs to be fixed. I can touch the winch and cable without feeling any electrical shock, but I'm standing on a wooden pier deck. I guess since the ladder was still partly in the water, it was acting as a ground. What can I do to stop this? Can I add a ground rod? Will this ground rod have to be on land? Will a ground rod even solve the problem, or is it more like a band-aid? Can anyone tell me what's causing the problem? I'd like to swim in the water, but I'd prefer to stay alive...

If you guys need any more info to help me out, I'll be as quick as possible. I'd like to get this boat lift safe before I use it or swim.

Thanks,
Patrick

gookinp07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 09:59 PM   #2

Pier Wiring Leaking

that would be a ground wire in the 3 wire feed is it grounded from the source,anfd that control switch are you breaking both HOTs of that 220V.if your only breaking one side the other might be leaking on the winding of the winch looking for a ground that the ladder gave it...just throwing this out to you for others to tweek

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 10:03 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor

Pier Wiring Leaking