Photocell Sensor Lighting Wiring (2 Wires) - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-29-2013, 03:06 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Photocell Sensor Lighting Wiring (2 wires)


Is there a dusk to dawn photocell sensor or a way to wire a photocell sensor in place of a single pole light switch in a scenario where only two wires come out of the wall, a black and a white? Our new home has a series of recessed lights under the eves of the home and at the end of the line is a dusk to dawn photocell sensor. The lights are always on, when I removed the photocell sensor the lights turned off and there are only two wires in the junction box, a black and a white. A typical photocell sensor has 3 wires (white, black, red) and requires 4 wires, 2 from the power source and 2 to the light source. What are my options if I only have 2 wires available and want a dusk to dawn type switch controlling the lights?

Advertisement

Schroeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 06:57 PM   #2
JW
 
mm11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 194
Default

Photocell Sensor Lighting Wiring (2 wires)


What type of photocell did you remove? Two leads?

Seems like the old photocell switched the neutral (code violation), and it burned up with the contacts in a closed position.

Advertisement

mm11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 10:42 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Photocell Sensor Lighting Wiring (2 wires)


The photocell sensor never worked properly, the property is new and someone installed it hoping it would work. The current photocell sensor has 3 leads; the lights have always been on until they all burned out. Whoever wired the lights ran a wire from the lights to the photocell sensor, and the wire only has two wires, a white and a black, and functions as a single pole light switch would. I want to know if there is a product or way to wire a dusk to dawn photocell sensor to the wires I have available?
Schroeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 12:55 AM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Photocell Sensor Lighting Wiring (2 wires)


That sound like a switch loop for the photo sensor and that useally not the best move with someone done like that.

Normally they work fine with indentscent bulbs but once you go with LED or CFL .,, the bet do go out of the window ( it means will never work properly espcally with off mode )


Whatever you do ., don't repurpose the EGC aka bare ground conductor for other useage that is not mean for that only for ground protection only.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 11:32 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Photocell Sensor Lighting Wiring (2 wires)


So does anyone know if there is a way to wire a photocell sensor to a 2-wire "switch loop?"
Schroeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 12:37 AM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Photocell Sensor Lighting Wiring (2 wires)


Quote:
Originally Posted by Schroeck View Post
So does anyone know if there is a way to wire a photocell sensor to a 2-wire "switch loop?"
The only way you can do this is use the two wire photocell format and as I mention before check what kind of lighting load you have there if indentscent bulbs that is not a issue at all.

Unless you snake in new XX-3 conductor < cable > then it will not be a issue with any type of photocell sensor at all.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 11:42 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Photocell Sensor Lighting Wiring (2 wires)


The load is 12 standard flood lights, which we may replace the bulbs with energy saver cfl flood light bulbs. Would this be an issue? I can't seem to find a 2-wire photocell sensor, any recommendations? Thank you!
Schroeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 12:59 AM   #8
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Photocell Sensor Lighting Wiring (2 wires)


Quote:
Originally Posted by Schroeck View Post
The load is 12 standard flood lights, which we may replace the bulbs with energy saver cfl flood light bulbs. Would this be an issue? I can't seem to find a 2-wire photocell sensor, any recommendations? Thank you!
If you go with the CFL bulbs the photosensor you have there now I am pretty sure it will not work properly unless you leave at least one indentscent bulb in there all the time the rest with CFL then it should work allright.

The reason why I mention the indentscent bulb due it will act like shunt to keep prevent the rest of the CFL lamps flicker when it is in off mode with two wire photosensor.

So that one way you can do this otherwise if you have real easy access to the junction box to the luminaire then that what I will recomeoned to do that route.

What photocell you have on now ?

Merci,
Marc

Advertisement

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
daisy chain , lighting , photocell sensor , single pole , wiring


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are Dead wires allowed or unsafe? Scooby333 Electrical 31 10-01-2012 02:26 PM
Power loss carlko Electrical 55 03-12-2011 06:26 PM
My utility room's wiring, before rewiring WillK Electrical 0 01-07-2011 11:44 PM
240v conduit with different gauge wires... Biospot Electrical 7 12-14-2010 08:07 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts