Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-24-2010, 03:39 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NH
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Photo-cell not working


I installed a dusk to dawn photo sensor on a 300 watt quartz light and it will not come on when I cover the photo cell. The Photo cell is made by Intermatic Corp, modle k4221x, 120V 1800 watts,8.3amp ballast. I read 124v from the feed side and 0v on the red wire load side. What did I do wrong?
Signed; Stormman Norman


Last edited by moonjacks; 07-24-2010 at 03:51 PM.
moonjacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 03:41 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Photo-cell not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by moonjacks View Post
I installed a dusk to dawn photo sensor on a 3000 watt quartz light and it will not come on when I cover the photo cell. The Photo cell is made by Intermatic Corp, modle k4221x, 120V 1800 watts,8.3amp ballast. I read 124v from the feed side and 0v on the red wire load side. What did I do wrong?
Signed; Stormman Norman
One possibility is that your photocell (1,800w) is way undersized for the light (3,000w).

Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Proby For This Useful Post:
moonjacks (07-24-2010)
Old 07-24-2010, 03:56 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NH
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Photo-cell not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by Proby View Post
One possibility is that your photocell (1,800w) is way undersized for the light (3,000w).
Hi,I put many (0's) it shoud read 300watts, sorry about that.
Norm
moonjacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 04:02 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Photo-cell not working


Are you sure you have it wired correctly?

Have you tried using it at night? Sometimes just covering the photocell isn't enough, light could still get in. Cover the eye and surrounding area with many layers of black tape and leave it, some photocells take a few minutes to switch on.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 04:08 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NH
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Photo-cell not working


I tried covering it with electrical tape waited 15 mins and still no lite. I thinking it's the 300watt qurtz lite, but the photo cell is rated at 1800 watts.
Thank you,
StormanNorman
moonjacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 05:02 PM   #6
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Photo-cell not working


black is the incoming hot wire. Red goes to the load. White is tied in with the neutral from the circuit feeding the light.

so, you have that right, right?

then once you hook it up, take the box the thing came in and put it over the sensor and tape the box where it is open around the sensor. Give it 5+ minutes. It should turn on.



btw: if you can watch the light as you are first energizing the circuit, it will turn on for a moment or so until it can react to the light (if the box isn't on the sensor). If it doesn't, you might have a bad sensor. Very unusual in my experience but not impossible.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 05:07 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Photo-cell not working


What color electrical tape did you use? Only black tape can fool an eye into thinking it's dark outside ....
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 05:11 PM   #8
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Photo-cell not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
What color electrical tape did you use? Only black tape can fool an eye into thinking it's dark outside ....
true dat
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 06:11 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NH
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Photo-cell not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
black is the incoming hot wire. Red goes to the load. White is tied in with the neutral from the circuit feeding the light.

so, you have that right, right?

then once you hook it up, take the box the thing came in and put it over the sensor and tape the box where it is open around the sensor. Give it 5+ minutes. It should turn on.



btw: if you can watch the light as you are first energizing the circuit, it will turn on for a moment or so until it can react to the light (if the box isn't on the sensor). If it doesn't, you might have a bad sensor. Very unusual in my experience but not impossible.
Hi,
Yes I had the black feed side to the black photo cell wire and the red wire to the lamp load ,covered the senor with black electrical tape for 15 mins and still no light or power to the red wirw reads 0v's.
Thanks anyway;
StormanNorman
moonjacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 06:13 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NH
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Photo-cell not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
What color electrical tape did you use? Only black tape can fool an eye into thinking it's dark outside ....
Hi,
Yes i did, just one of the things no one can explain.
Thanks anyway
moonjacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 06:16 PM   #11
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Photo-cell not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by moonjacks View Post
Hi,
Yes I had the black feed side to the black photo cell wire and the red wire to the lamp load ,covered the senor with black electrical tape for 15 mins and still no light or power to the red wirw reads 0v's.
Thanks anyway;
StormanNorman
and the neutral?


did this light work before installing the photocell?
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 08:22 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NH
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Photo-cell not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
and the neutral?


did this light work before installing the photocell?
yes the light worked and neutral is ok.
moonjacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 08:43 PM   #13
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Photo-cell not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by moonjacks View Post
yes the light worked and neutral is ok.
and the neutral on the pc is connected to the circuit neutral. (that is what I was trying to get you to acknowledge)


the only thing left is a bad PC.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 09:33 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NH
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Photo-cell not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
and the neutral on the pc is connected to the circuit neutral. (that is what I was trying to get you to acknowledge)


the only thing left is a bad PC.
Yes the neutral is connected to the circuit neutral.
I think it has somthing to do with the quartz lite but not sure.
Anyway thank you much for trying to help.
signed StormanNornan
moonjacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 09:50 PM   #15
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Photo-cell not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by moonjacks View Post
Yes the neutral is connected to the circuit neutral.
I think it has somthing to do with the quartz lite but not sure.
Anyway thank you much for trying to help.
signed StormanNornan

a quartz light is basically a fancy incandescent lamp. It still produces light by the current flowing through the element causing it to heat up and incandesce.

what the difference between a typical incandescent light and a quartz light is with the typical incandescent lamp, it uses a low grade glass and uses either a vacuum or nitrogen, argon, or krypton gas. Both types use a tungsten filament.

the quartz lamp uses halogen as the gas and the envelope is quartz, which can withstand very high temps. The type of gas actually allows the vaporized tungsten to reattach to the filament where with a standard incandescent lamp, it attaches to the envelope eventually allowing the filament to thin an break.

the are both incandescent lamps though.

it isn't the lamp causing your problems.

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Circuit stopped working, breaker did not trip nr5667 Electrical 7 07-08-2012 03:31 AM
Pern value of 8 inches of open cell foam millertimeny Building & Construction 0 03-23-2010 11:28 AM
closed cell vs open cell foam insulation amonalisa Building & Construction 1 11-06-2008 09:39 PM
GE fridge evaporator fan change and still not working Trish Appliances 2 03-30-2008 01:47 PM
photo cell lights thst only work sometimes... kemerick Electrical 10 11-10-2007 11:29 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.