Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-21-2012, 02:40 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,248
Share |
Default

phone panel in media box malfunctions after a month


This box worked at first and successfully split the phone line in multiple outlets. Then it stopped working suddenly. The phone line does work, i tested the cable that charges connection into the box. When i mount a jack on it, it works, in the panel it doesn't.

What could have happened to it in just a month worth of life?

Name:  ForumRunner_20120621_154001.jpg
Views: 53
Size:  44.3 KB

amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 03:15 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,972
Default

phone panel in media box malfunctions after a month


Repunch the wires down again. If you do not have the tool, you can use the back of a utility knife blade.

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 03:28 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,248
Default

phone panel in media box malfunctions after a month


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Repunch the wires down again. If you do not have the tool, you can use the back of a utility knife blade.
tried that many times. no avail
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 05:01 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,972
Default

phone panel in media box malfunctions after a month


Could be bad punch block, or miswired somewhere down the line. Something had to happen in order for it to stop working.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?

Last edited by gregzoll; 06-21-2012 at 05:46 PM.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Main Service Panel to 2 breaker panels - I can imagine you all rolling your eyes kalus Electrical 22 03-23-2012 02:09 AM
Mobile Home Electrical Panel Replacement rrolleston Electrical 2 01-28-2012 05:27 PM
200A upgrade and move, backfeeding permitted? WillK Electrical 3 05-30-2011 08:00 PM
Critique my Sub Panel rjniles Electrical 18 05-17-2011 11:31 PM
Replacing 2 Sub Panels with 1 Larger Panel GuitarJack Electrical 7 08-25-2009 08:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.