Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-15-2012, 04:14 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 36
Share |
Default

Phone Jacks to code


I am finishing out my basement and need to know if there is any code that says how many if any phone jacks I need to install?

Thanks

buildit45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 04:22 PM   #2
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Phone Jacks to code


No code I've ever heard of.

DM

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DangerMouse For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (07-15-2012)
Old 07-15-2012, 04:23 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,779
Default

Phone Jacks to code


Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post
No code I've ever heard of.
Agree, at least in the US.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 04:32 PM   #4
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Phone Jacks to code


Of course, that doesn't mean you won't want them!
I ran a couple of them when I built my home.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 05:13 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,361
Default

Phone Jacks to code


Zero zilch, zip, nadda, -0- etc.

No requirement for phone jacks.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 05:56 PM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,783
Default

Phone Jacks to code


Some building codes require at least one for the building. Not the NEC.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 07:06 PM   #7
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Phone Jacks to code


I know this doesn't offer any help to the OP, but if I were building a house from the ground up, I'd run one (maybe 2) CAT5 from the basement to each room in the house.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 07:28 PM   #8
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,842
Default

Phone Jacks to code


Quote:
Originally Posted by buildit45 View Post
I am finishing out my basement and need to know if there is any code that says how many if any phone jacks I need to install?

Thanks
There is no code, and now days, with everyone using Cordless bases with remote handsets, you only need one jack. It is really up to you how many you put in. My house has none, due to we only use cellphones in our household.

Basically the answer is, as many as you want, because there is no code for Low voltage. You can basically do as you want.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 07:31 PM   #9
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,842
Default

Phone Jacks to code


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
Some building codes require at least one for the building. Not the NEC.
That may have been in the old days, but now with the new technologies, of VoIP over Ethernet, cordless phonesets with multiple remote bases, 1 will do, but basically you can have none, with everyone using cellphones all of the time. Only place I could see having a POTS, is something like where I am now in the Northwoods of the U.P. of Wisconsin & Michigan, that Cellular service is pretty non-existant, and data is at best 1-2meg.

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to install phone wiring? fromscratch Electrical 16 08-15-2011 09:24 PM
Need advice; GC's ignorance of code to cost us extra? Merst Off Topic 9 06-12-2010 09:22 AM
installing more phone jacks JAVAMAN General DIY Discussions 6 11-27-2007 08:37 AM
couple questions about installing phone jacks joeyboy Electrical 31 10-09-2007 02:26 PM
New Phone Jack Install - Q & A 101 allen1466 Electrical 7 07-17-2007 11:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.