Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-24-2010, 05:08 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 22
Share |
Default

Phantom voltage -- I'm completely stumped


I live in an older home with a mix of knob-and-tube, older NM, and new NM. In my attic, I have an old subpanel with a bonded neutral (it was originally wired with 8/2 and I need to upgrade it to 8/3). I have a hunch that it was originally the location of a non-grounded fuse box and the previous HO just replaced it with a subpanel but didn't run new wire. There is an old run of K-and-T that powers an attic fan and it also powers the 2nd floor lights (below attic floor).

The subpanel powers a few receptacles and lights in the attic, as well as a few receptacles on the second floor.

Here's what is happening...

When I turn off the breakers on the subpanel (and at the main service panel), my non-contact voltage meter will pick up voltage on long runs of wire and at the "dead" receptacles. I tried this with two different brands of non-contact meters (Klein and Greenlee). My first thought was the non-grounded subpanel somehow had a hot neutral and was energizing the circuits this way.

My first test was with one of the 3-prong outlet testers. It showed nothing.

My second test was with my multimeter and it showed no voltage.

I then tried disconnecting a circuit completely from the subpanel and at the first junction box. This wire run is absolutely 100% not connected to anything. It still triggers the non-contact meter. I can visually inspect the entire run and there is no way that is in contact with any live wires (or any wires at all).

I don't get it and have no idea why two different non-contact meters go crazy in my attic. I really don't understand why a non-contact meter will show voltage but my multimeter doesn't.

Anyone have any ideas?

Thanks!
kb01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 06:13 PM   #2
WDR
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 94
Default

Phantom voltage -- I'm completely stumped


Once I experienced the same thing with a run of K-and-T and a non contact tester. The strange readings greatly reduced when I replaced the batteries in the tester, it would still somtimes give a false reading but a lot less offten
WDR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2010, 06:44 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,352
Default

Phantom voltage -- I'm completely stumped


PLUG a working lamp into one of your "dead" outlets. That should eliminate the false readings.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Voltage in Metal Roof and Gutters TITAN2390 Electrical 4 10-07-2010 07:44 PM
Outlet Wiring Question (Please Help!) joshg3p0 Electrical 34 02-05-2010 01:40 PM
Phantom voltage reading on switch loops jamiedolan Electrical 5 02-09-2009 04:22 PM
Low voltage box question WShawn Electrical 7 08-19-2008 06:22 AM
2 - 900w tansformers on a 15A circuit? tonyBagadonuts Electrical 19 07-20-2008 07:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.