Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-04-2011, 12:11 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 301
Share |
Default

Permanent wire vs. extension cord


At my work, we have 3 computers and 1 big UPS battery system for them. However, only 2 of the computers can reach the battery so I asked our maintenance guy for 2 extension chords so the 3rd station can use it as well. He told me extension cords used in that type of situation would be considered "Permanent wiring" so it can't be done. I don't know why he would think that.

I know extension cords
1.) Can't be used/passed through holes in walls/floors/ceilings
2.) Can't run through doorways/windows/other openings
3.) Can't be attached to building surfaces
4.) Can't be concealed behind walls/ceilings/floors
5.) Can'b be used in place of permanent wiring

I'm not doing any of that, I'm just adding another 3 feet to the monitor & computer powerchords so they reach. The computers are in an open area on plain countertop, there's no walls for the extension cord to pass through even if I wanted. Why would he think an extension cord can not be used? Thanks


Last edited by Piedmont; 05-04-2011 at 12:34 PM.
Piedmont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 12:26 PM   #2
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

Permanent wire vs. extension cord


Just tell him that you promise to unplug the computer every night before you leave and after you shut it down.

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 12:55 PM   #3
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Permanent wire vs. extension cord


Quote:
Originally Posted by Piedmont View Post
5.) Can'b be used in place of permanent wiring

I'm not doing any of that, I'm just adding another 3 feet to the monitor & computer powerchords so they reach. Thanks
yes, you are. If you disagree, all you have to do is explain how long you will need to use the extension cord so you can roll it up and put it away after you are done.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 01:53 PM   #4
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

Permanent wire vs. extension cord


the only thing you could do is order longer cords for the equipment. I have seen 12' cord with the end designed to plug in to computer power supplies.
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 02:41 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 301
Default

Permanent wire vs. extension cord


That's a bummer.

The power cords are for Apple desktop computers, a replacement is $20 just for the cord but no one makes an extra long one. Thanks
Piedmont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 03:44 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 44
Default

Permanent wire vs. extension cord


I'm not real familiar with Mac's, but what about this one:

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2


Assuming it's not a normal one like this:

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...t=1#largeimage

Last edited by thadsaab; 05-04-2011 at 03:54 PM.
thadsaab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 03:50 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,932
Default

Permanent wire vs. extension cord


Put in a work order to have some permanent wall mounted wiring added between the UPS and a receptacle near the computer in question. Now the connection using an extension cord will be considered temporary.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 04:32 PM   #8
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Default

Permanent wire vs. extension cord


Power bars are usually allowed in cases like this, you are even allowed to daisy chain them. If you need maybe like 6 feet and no more you could add power bars. Will look messy but be to code. Ask the maintenance guy about it just to make sure.

Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
220v to 110v extension cord? glamabilly Electrical 14 09-25-2010 11:25 PM
Extension cord fire KE2KB General DIY Discussions 8 07-04-2010 10:52 AM
shop light to switch to extension cord suthernkumfert Electrical 9 05-30-2010 07:07 PM
wire built-in dishwasher to hook to extension cord purpleheart Electrical 12 05-09-2010 10:07 AM
Extension Cord Question. camoram Electrical 2 04-08-2006 09:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.